MacBook Pro's Touch Bar Will Display Function Keys When Running Windows With Boot Camp

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Oct 28, 2016.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    One of the biggest questions about the Touch Bar on Apple's new MacBook Pro is how it will work with Windows through Boot Camp. That led MacRumors reader Abraham to send an email to Apple's software engineering chief Craig Federighi, who shared good news for dual-booters.
    Presumably, this means the Touch Bar will likely display virtual function keys between F1-F12, along with an Escape key, when running Windows. It remains to be seen if there will be specific controls for system-level tasks such as volume, playback, and display brightness. Meanwhile, the virtual power button should work, but without Touch ID.

    MacRumors cannot fully confirm the authenticity of the email, but it does appear to be sent by Federighi through Apple's corporate servers based on full headers we saw. Apple executives occasionally respond to customer emails, or it is possible the response was handled by Apple's executive relations or public relations teams.

    Boot Camp is an Apple utility that enables users to partition their SSDs or hard drives and install Windows directly on a Mac, allowing for macOS and Windows to be run side by side. It differs from virtualization software like Parallels and VMware Fusion, which allows Windows to run as a desktop app within macOS itself.

    Article Link: MacBook Pro's Touch Bar Will Display Function Keys When Running Windows With Boot Camp
     
  2. frifra macrumors 6502a

    frifra

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #2
    That is just amazing!

    How do they even think about such smart and truly innovative things???

    Crazy.
     
  3. jmh600cbr macrumors 6502a

    jmh600cbr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #3
    i was wondering about this. i wonder how vmware and the like will handle this
     
  4. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #4
    I don't run Bootcamp, but Windows via Parallels. Will the function keys show when a virtual box is being run?
     
  5. dannys1 macrumors 68020

    dannys1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Figured that it would default to function keys for any software that didn't interact - glad to have Boot Camp confirmation. The drivers aren't out yet though, so no support for Thunderbolt 3 (does Window support it yet? Presumably so...) but they'll all need to be released in next day or so for the none Touch Bar enable system that is shipping overnight.
     
  6. Steve121178 macrumors 601

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #6
    Hopefully when a Guest OS is detected, then I would expect it to display the function keys...
     
  7. dannys1 macrumors 68020

    dannys1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    You can just hold down FN and get to the function keys in any app - the same way it works now with the normal keyboard.
     
  8. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #8
    Good to know!

    I don't run too many applications under Windows, but there are a few I have to have because they're not available on the Mac. My setup runs them great and I would hope that would continue to be the case with the new hardware.
     
  9. EdRed macrumors member

    EdRed

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    Venezuela
    #9
    I guess that's up Parallels and how they plan to use the touch bar. Maybe Apple makes the touch bar show the ESC and function keys when an application doesn't explicitly support it.
     
  10. Three141 macrumors 6502

    Three141

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Location:
    London
    #10
    That was one of the questions I had, I wonder how VMware and Parallels will work.
     
  11. kemal macrumors 65816

    kemal

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #11
    If you figure it is just another USB HID on the bus, when nothing tries to talk to it it just defaults to a top row.
     
  12. NT1440 macrumors G5

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #12
    As long as Parallels updates their program to do so.
     
  13. coolfactor macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    #13
    Good to know. And I'm SO glad that Apple did the right thing and gave the Esc key a special designation on the Touch Bar in the "System Button" space.

    But why do people feel inclined to contact these very busy executives directly?
     
  14. Kaibelf macrumors 68020

    Kaibelf

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #14
    Parallels has a very tight back channel relationship with Apple, so it's very likely that this will be the case.
     
  15. gbdavid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #15
    Bootcamp is a bit crap, you loose most of the user experience that comes with the Mac, like gestures etc. If you really need Windows applications in your Mac you'll rather use Parallels to loose the least possible in user experience and really won't sacrifice system performance. I won't be surprised if the Parallels team is already working in ways to make clever interactions with the TouchBar for Coherence mode
     
  16. kasakka macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #16
    This just makes it harder to use. Why don't they leave the touchbar for media keys and use Fn+numbers for function keys? I use that setup on my 60% mechanical keyboard and it works much better than having separate function keys as the combination of keys is easier to reach.
     
  17. iHack13 macrumors regular

    iHack13

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    city of octoberfest
    #17
    Interesting news while browsing for a new Asus Zenbook that can run hackintosh on it. Can't stop counting the USB ports on those.
    Only downside is that I cannot plug in those fancy lightning iPhone 7 Earpods into. Oh wait , cannot do that on the new Macbook either.

    But at least I can sync the iPhone without any problems on the Zenbook.
     
  18. 69Mustang macrumors 604

    69Mustang

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    In between a rock and a hard place
    #18
    Because they are people, just like everyone else. I don't say that with snark. They're people, just like you and me.
     
  19. dmylrea macrumors 68030

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #19
    It's the BEST Bootcamp they've ever made. ;)
     
  20. Benjamin Frost Suspended

    Benjamin Frost

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Location:
    London, England
    #20
    So much fragmentation.

    If you are a Pro, you are likely to do most of your work on a desktop. Yet if you buy this new MacBook Pro, you will now have a different method of working. Why bother to learn an entirely different method, if you are are swapping back and forth between desktop and laptop? Apple should have updated all their computers and keyboards with this Touch Bar if they really wanted to have it adopted universally.

    I am getting so tired of Apple fragmenting every little bloody feature, whether it's the camera in the iPhones, the keyboards on the laptops, the ports that don't allow for use of iPhones or iPads with laptops, or 5400 Hard Drives in the iMac in 2016.
     
  21. sportsfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    #21
    Bootcamp drains the battery so fast, I don't know how anyone can use it when disconnected from a power source.
     
  22. StandardFlint, Oct 28, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2016

    StandardFlint macrumors regular

    StandardFlint

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    #22
    I wanted to say something witty but I'm feeling too much relief.

    Legitimately would not have been surprised in the slightest if they decided to kill off bootcamp for the new MacBook Pros.

    That's the kind of vibe I'm getting from this company lately.
     
  23. plinktog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #23
    I'd be surprised if Parallels didn't make the function keys display their contextual function as well as the F-numbers.
     
  24. macduke macrumors G4

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #24
    But who would buy the new MacBook Pro if they could just buy a $249 keyboard instead??
     
  25. JeffyTheQuik macrumors 68020

    JeffyTheQuik

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC and Everett, WA
    #25
    Craig, Will we get a Magic Keyboard 3 with a Touch Bar?
     

Share This Page

73 October 28, 2016