Macbook Pro's warranty

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by brianlhp, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. brianlhp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    Will I lost the warranty if I open my MBP's back cover and change the RAM??
    Although I will change it back if I take it to repare.
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #2
    You don't need to change the RAM back, RAM is an upgradeable part in any Unibody Macbook Pro, I'm not sure about non unibody models. A simple Google Search could have returned this answer (For future reference).
     
  3. brianlhp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Mine one is a Uni body model.
    But are you sure that Apple accept you to change the hardware yourself??
    If yes, why don't they let us to JB!
    XD
     
  4. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Upgrading the RAM is fine with Appe, won't void the warranty in itself. However, if you break anything when you are doing it that isn't covered.
     
  5. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #5
    they don't stop you from jailbreaking either...
     
  6. brianlhp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Thank you!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  7. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #7
    One funny thing to note is that when I went to the Apple store recently and asked the Genius about his opinion on Jailbreaking, he said 'uhhhh, what dude? I don't know what that is, or what it does (smirk.)'

    To the OP, no, it doesn't void warranty. However, if you bring in for a repair, say battery, motherboard, or any other internal parts, they could blame you on opening your computer in a very humid room where moisture could have got in and caused the trouble. If I were you, I would just put it back JUST IN CASE so that I won't have to face additional troubles.
     
  8. brianlhp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8

    Thank you very much.
     

Share This Page