Macbook RAM upgrade query

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zer0, May 22, 2007.

  1. Zer0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #1
    Hi.. been reading the forums for a while. Its been great help and saved me from buying the macbook one day before the upgrade!! :D
    Thanks to everyone who contributes around here :)

    Now that I have my macbook, I was planning to upgrade the ram from the stock 1GB to 2GB. Would the following ram fit into the macbook

    Buffalo DDR2 667MHz(PC2-5300)
    200Pin S.O.DIMM
    CL=5(PC2-5300)/CL=4(PC2-4200)

    I'm a lil confused as googling around seems to suggest this would be fine, however the product description on the website is vouching for compatibility with only macbook pro and iMac. Morever i'm currently in japan and its difficult to get my point thru to the sales guy as i dont speak japanese :(

    Any help would be appretiated. Thanks.
    PS: Dont mind any delay in response as its already mid night here :)
     
  2. eyebeaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #2
    That ram sounds like it should work.. not positive though. Look into crucial ram, or corsair. I recommend going through a site that will give you ram suggestions based on your computer model, and then find the exact ram at a place that u can actually buy it, seeing as you are in Tokyo.
     
  3. Zer0 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #3
    thanks eyebeaz. I went down to the store and verified with the sales guy and he suggested that the ram would work with macbook. Bought em and insalled. Now let me get down to some memory tests :)
     
  4. lil' brudder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    Hope you enjoy your much speedier computer. Let us know exactly how much speedier it is! (For research purposes as I will be getting a MB soon) :apple:
     
  5. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #5
    you will see how much faster your mb will get. :) :)
     
  6. Zer0 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #6
    Well I cannot really vouch for that as I've only had my MB for like 4 dayz and have been using it just for some internet browsing and music! It doesnt really make much of a difference for that kinda use. In fact right now the activity monitor is showing about 1.2 Gig as free :eek:

    Nevertheless I still have the old memory, so may be after I start putting it through the paces I can swap back to the old memory and see how much of a difference it makes.

    Cheers.
     
  7. DENZIE macrumors member

    DENZIE

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #7
    Open up a heap of finder windows, play a quicktime movie and put itunes on visualiser (all of these at the same time) then mash f9-f12 keys and see how it goes ;)
     
  8. Zer0 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #8
    Well I did try em and it breezes thru, but it was doing pretty good under 1GB too :)

    What I did do however was I used the fast account switching and logged into multiple accounts simultaneously. I remembered this was making the mac jerky at times with 1 Gig ram. I can clearly see the difference now. There is absolutely no slowdown. I opened up all those i suite of apps copied some 10Gig of data from my external hard drive, opened some more mozilla and finder windows all at the same time while I was logged into another account which had quite a few apps running under it as well. It was using up about 1.7 Gig of ram and still the Expose and dashboard were absolutely undeterred :cool:

    Its definitely worth the upgrade. But I must say, if you are gonna use it for surfing, chatting and other basic stuff 1 Gig is more than sufficient for now.
     

Share This Page