MacBook RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by adonzil, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. adonzil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #1
    My sister has a MacBook from 2009. (Its the 13" Late 2008 Model)

    Here is the Model she has: Its This One

    I bought her more RAM for it. (Im 99.9% sure it is the right kind/speed etc. ITs Corsair 1066 MHz etc etc)

    I bought 2x4GBs instead of 2x2GBs. Can I use just one 4GB stick? and leave the other slot open? I know its a dumb question, but I DO know that this model will only support 4GBs.

    Any info would be helpful. Im not 100% about Macs so pointing out the obvious might be helpful.

    Thanks!!
    Adon
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. adonzil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #3
    So should I install both the 4GB sticks right now? And it will simply recognize 6GB?

    Or should I install 1 4GB chip, and leave one of the 1 GBs in?

    Or just install 1 4GB chip and nothing else?

    Thanks
    Adon
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Do these questions mean, that following the link I provided, has provided answers, but that you don't want to do the necessary steps?

    Anyway, you can combine the modules however you want. If you install both 4 GB sticks, it will at least recognise as 6 GB.
     
  5. adonzil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #5
    I appreciate the help...but not the sarcasm. I am a rookie when it comes to Macs and dont wanna fry anything that doesn't belong to me.

    I did follow the link, but it does not tell me if I can mix and match. I am going to install the 8GB. Thanks for clearing that all up for me.


    Thanks again
    Adon
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    It was not meant as sarcasm, just as honest question.
    And you won't fry the Mac updating its firmware, if it hasn't been updated already.
    But 6 GB is at least thrice as much as 2 GB.
     
  7. adonzil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #7
    I just upgraded her laptop to Snow Leopard. Should I update the software before I install the RAM?

    Also, is there a different process to upgrading the firmware?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8

Share This Page