MacBook Repair Advice

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by craigb6, Aug 8, 2009.

1. craigb6 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone!

I'm a student and have a Core Duo White MacBook which will be three years old in September. I have been having a couple of problems with my Mac lately and since the Applecare is about to 'expire' thought that I should try and get some of the problems fixed.

1) The bluetooth connection regularly drops with my mouse and my Mac reports "Bluetooth: Not available" The bluetooth icon disappears from System Preferences. A restart used to cure this, but recently it hasn't. Bluetooth can reappear a hour or even a day later!

2) The backlight also has a tendency to flicker and change its brightness by itself. This is probably the main issue I have. It's really annoying to be editing photos and having the backlight change brightness by itself.

3) The final issue is the '/' key doesn't always register key presses. I'd say that roughly 1/2 of my keystrokes to that key are not registered.

I have made some upgrades to my MacBook since buying it three years ago. I upped the RAM from 512MB to 2GB and the HDD from 80GB to 250GB. As I'm a student and realise that there is a chance my laptop could be stolen I have a password popping up at start up, login and when waking from sleep. I have also enabled Firmware Password using the original restore DVD so you cannot simply replace the HDD and boot up easily. I also have the invisible shield on the lid, mouse bottom and hand rests.