Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

leisenstein

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 15, 2010
I know there are a ton of threads on restoring, but none seem to fit my situation and since I am a Macbook newb, I need some help.

I bought a used Macbook Pro (13", 2008 version). It came loaded with Lion, but no restore disk. I was told I could buy it from the App store if I needed it.

When I went to the App store, Lion is no longer there and my laptop does not support Mountain Lion.

I tried building one using a tool on Apple's support site, but it had me put in my apple id and said I hadn't purchased Lion with that account.

How can I build a restore disk in case I ever have to reload from DVD/USB?

T5BRICK

macrumors G3
Aug 3, 2006
Oregon
I bought a used Macbook Pro (13", 2008 version). It came loaded with Lion, but no restore disk. I was told I could buy it from the App store if I needed it.

There is no such thing as a 13" 2008 MacBook Pro. It could be a 13" 2009 model, or a 13" 2008 MacBook(not a Pro).

When I went to the App store, Lion is no longer there and my laptop does not support Mountain Lion.

Either way, if it is an Aluminum unibody model, it will run ML.

http://www.apple.com/osx/specs/

leisenstein

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 15, 2010

This one only works if you purchased Lion from the app store. It was loaded already when I bought it and Lion is no longer available on the App store.

This is the catch-22 I'm in. I've worked with Windows PCs for years and never had an issue like this. Most Windows PC makers have stopped shipping the media, but they almost always include a program to let you make your own restore disk.

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
This one only works if you purchased Lion from the app store. It was loaded already when I bought it and Lion is no longer available on the App store.