Macbook Retina vs iMac 5K vs Mac Pro for Editing

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by emrn, Nov 16, 2014.

1. emrn macrumors newbie

Hi People,

I own a start up company producing short films and tv commercials. I am a beginner in final cut and premiere pro.

I need a computer that will last me for a good 5-7 years without impacting on performance and would like to slowly upgrade my knowledge and skills on video editing.

My budget is 4.5K. I love the new retina imac but also want the portability factor as the computer I pick will be my primary machine. I'd need to edit raw footage shot from a 4K camera.

Is the retina macbook pro mid range with 16Gb worth it and capable of working with raw footage and rendering? I know next year Apple may upgrade their retina notebooks to 32Gb RAM. I had a macbook pro from 2010 and it had 4Gb but after a year-two it started to slow down. My only concern is that if i purchase the rMBP, after 2 years, it will slow down and may impact my work/business.

Please shed some light. I also intend to do css, python and html coding (not too much) and also run photoshop.

Thanks so much in advance

2. jdphoto macrumors 6502

jdphoto

That's a tough call, but I'd say the 5k iMac. I don't think the rMBP will give you the longevity you're hoping for, it could but I doubt it. With a 4.5k budget you could get a slightly upgraded Mac Pro, but taking into consideration necessary peripheral purchases probably not too many upgrades. That leaves the 5k iMac which gives you a great screen to edit 4k video on and with a 4.5k budget you can pretty much max it out and get some long term performance from it. My two cents.

3. imaccooper macrumors regular

imaccooper

Agreed 100%. If you had a little more money the mac pro would be a good choice, but a maxed out 5k iMac is the best choice in your budget and will definitely last you for some time (as i type on my flawlessly preforming 2009 iMac).

4. emrn thread starter macrumors newbie

Hi guys,