Macbook Specifications

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Beowulf666, Dec 20, 2007.

1. Beowulf666 macrumors regular

Beowulf666

I'm about to order my macbook, and I was just curious about some specifics about the machine. Basically:

-Is .2 Ghz a drastic change? will i notice a difference between 2.2 ghz and 2.0 ghz?

-Is 1 Gb ram enough or will I need 2? Will i see a drastic change?

-How many gb hard drive do you think I should get?

I'm a student going to college, and will basically be using this as a desktop replacement. My budget is a little tight, and i can't decide whether or not the little differences will make a very noticeable change. I will place music and movies on my laptop along with my school stuff as well, and you never know what I decide to put on there (maybe windows XP or vista with bootcamp, or other programs etc...)

So basically, Is the base model ($1200 canadian) good? or should i spend a few extra bucks for some upgrades?

Thanks.

2. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

Digital Skunk

Sounds like you will be needing a bigger hard drive to me. Go with the 2.2 GHz model with 1 GB of ram and the biggest hard drive you can afford.

3. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

more RAM will make the computer run better than a faster CPU. I reckon get the 2.0GHz model and use the saved money to bump up the RAM and HDD.

The MacBooks come with 1GB in two 512MB sticks. I think the cheapest way to upgrade is to swap one of these 512MB sticks with a 1GB stick. I have 1.5GB in my MacBook at the moment, and it runs beautifully. It'll save you money if you get it from a 3rd party manufacturer as well.

As for the HDD, the prices on the Apple site aren't too bad, so I'd advise you to upgrade the stock 80GB to a 120GB drive. I do a fair bit of image and audio manipulation, and I've still got room left over on my 120GB drive.

Hope this helped :)

4. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a