macbook~ suddenly no more airport

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NsK, May 24, 2007.

  1. NsK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #1
    wtf, I open my macbook and find out that I lost the airport...no more airport...it says that no airport is found...no longer in the upper right corner ...it was there 2 days ago...what do I do to install it back??? from the disc??? can we install back airport
     
  2. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #2
    I think I can only possibly address one minor issue; the Airport icon is no longer in your menu bar? Did you try going to System Preferences> Network> second drop down menu at the top should read, "Show:" select AirPort.

    You should then have a tick box allowing you to "Show AirPort status in menu bar"

    That's all I've got. :eek:
     
  3. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #3
    I know that, but its not that the problem...its the airport not recognized at all by my macbook...not recognizing the airport hardware....not only the icon
     
  4. D.G. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #4
    This occurred with my wife's MBP a month or two ago. Struggling to remember the precise cure, but it didn't require any reinstallation. I believe it was a corrupt preferences file somewhere (I may have ended up trashing all airport related prefs to solve it but I doubt it required something quite so drastic).

    Start by creating a brand new location in your network preferences, and see if that helps?

    DG
     
  5. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5
    The airport card may have died.
    Take it to an Apple Store if you can.
     
  6. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Is there any reason its likely to be a hardware issue (e.g. did you drop it etc)
     
  7. D.G. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #7
  8. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #8
    no didnt' drop it or anything...it suddenly happened just lke that....

    how about this

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303319
    Resetting MacBook and MacBook Pro System Management Controller (SMC)

    btw just tried the "Preferential Treatment...nothing wrong...no errors at all
     
  9. D.G. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #9
    Then it's looking less like it is the same as my issue was, and more like an actual hardware problem :(

    (Though it is impossible to really say. Did creating a new network location make any difference?)

    DG
     
  10. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #10
    you could create a new user and see if airport shows up for him or you can trash all your network prefs (you will to configure again) and restart your machine. you can find the prefs in HD/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration (if you don't want to loose your network settings instead of trashing them, make a copy of your prefs on your desktop and put them back if the trick doesn't help.
     
  11. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #11
    still not working...it says Status: No AirPort hardware found

    just try to reset-nvram...still not working......omfg
     
  12. eyebeaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #12
    I would just take it to an apple store, sounds hardware related.
     
  13. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #13
    any other input???
    do you guys think it helps if I format it?

    im now trying the hardware test with disc1 by holding d...
     
  14. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #14
    ive done everything possible even format the mac.......still not working...event worst..after format...I don't even see the airport option anywhere.....I read some other macbook user also encounter this problem but apple hasn't come up with a solution to it...some people just took out the battery and restart and it was ok...I guess I have to take it for repair
     
  15. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #15
    just want to confirm since I've never brought my mac to repair yet...I want to know if Apple Store does repair on the spot or I'll have to leave my mac there for them to fix it???

    btw, if it helps, i'm going to Apple Store Laval in Canada
     
  16. NsK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #16
    brought it to apple store yesterday, confirmed airport is dead...they don't have the piece in stock to fix it and it takes 2-3days to fix ...therefore have to leave my mac there and pick it up next week..
     

Share This Page