MacBook this Xmas? Is Mac good for students?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Degradable, Dec 12, 2007.

1. Degradable macrumors member

Hey, I have a few questions which I'm sure you guys can help answer :)

Some Background:

I am a 17 year old student from UK, England going to university next year and I'v always wanted a Mac and have heard they are very good for university and student work. I'v been a bit of a windows geek since I was like 8 and i HATE Windows Vista, I even downgraded to Windows XP because it was so poor.

Questions:

I would like to use my macbook for:

• Student Work
    • Surfing the Web
    • Some Gaming

But mostly I want a light, portable laptop which has great usability. Is the MacBook right for this?

Which MacBook should I go for, for university life? I know this sounds snobby, but how much the model costs is not an issue as I have savings and Christmas/18th coming up. Is the Macbook right for me or the Macbook pro?

Your recommendations please.

Also, one more question.

When should I buy whichever model you recommend? It says this site to buy it because its just been updated, but then I've read the rumor about an ultra-portable macbook being released this Jan?

Should I buy the Mac for Christmas? Or wait till Jan Sales? Or wait for my birthday in May?

Thank you in advance,

Andy

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

I'm a 16 year old student and the Mac is definitely the way to go...the Macbook is fantastic, and the new graphics will handle light stuff...

Remember to get the education discount :)

3. Degradable thread starter macrumors member

Hey, cheers for the quick reply.

Where do you get the education discount from??

Andy

4. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

I'm 19 and bought a mac specifically for my final major project at college, seriously paid itself, without it I would've just passed the course, with it I got double distinction and a merit :D

5. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak