Macbook to TV HDMI + Audio?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Deano.uk, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. Deano.uk macrumors regular

    Deano.uk

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Teesside
    #1
    Hi there.

    I have a unibody macbook and a new samsung 6 series 32" tv.

    I currently have Mini DP to HDMI that works fine with video, but whats the best way to output audio?

    i got a bit confused when i searched so thought id post instead.

    the cable i got says it supports uncompressed audio like LPCM

    and compressed audio like DTS digital and dolby digital...
     
  2. Deano.uk thread starter macrumors regular

    Deano.uk

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Teesside
    #3
    the square bit doesnt look like it will fit my tele.
    [​IMG]

    thats the slot
     
  3. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #4
    i think that is a cover on the back of the TV (i think it is a TV, kinda blurry..)
    Toslink or a regular male to make audio 3.5mm would work. You may only have optical out, not in. My TV has optical out, not in. Only found that out AFTER i ordered the toslink. Monoprice has them for cheap as well. maybe like $4 or something..
     
  4. JustGretchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #5
  5. Deano.uk thread starter macrumors regular

    Deano.uk

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Teesside
    #6
    TV LINK

    thats the one.

    Theres a red light for digital audio out, but no red light in the one i took a picture of. a 3.5 fits in there perfect though.

    it just says 'PC/ DVI (orDV1, cant read it from the pic) audio in'

    It seems to be the audio in for the PC connector (blue one to the left of audio in) and the first HDMI input which is marked DVI/DV1 might just try a 3.5 male to 3.5 male see where i get.
     
  6. Deano.uk thread starter macrumors regular

    Deano.uk

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Teesside
    #7
    Sorted! kinda...

    Its a male 3.5 - male 3.5...

    found two old pairs of headphones, cut them up, scotch-tapped the wires together, and got a sound from the tele :)

    just bought a cable off amazon for less then £2 that'll do the job... as my homebrew cable is a bit crackly!
     

Share This Page