Macbook to TV Help??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by snook911, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. snook911 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #1
    Ok I have a 2011 Mac book pro that I am trying to hook up the TV with HDMI. I Have Thunderbolt to HDMI adapter and HDMI cord and when I hook it all up nothing happens. Is it possible I am missing a setting on the laptop?
     
  2. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #2
    Make sure the tv is set to HDMI input. System Preferences > Displays should have Detect Displays option. Try another cable/tv to isolate the issue.
     
  3. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #3
    If you're using gfxCardStatus make sure you're not set to Integrated Only.

    That really doesn't help. What, specifically, are you doing? Are you switching the input on the TV?
     
  4. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #4
    Whaaaa? The TV doesn't automatically detects a new input has come on and switches to it? LOL.

    Am sure OP has hit a few buttons already.
     
  5. JRHawley2307 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #5
    Internet

    Hi

    I can connect my macbook to the tv through a thunderbolt to hdmi adapter and then hdmi from the adapter into the tv, the only problem that I have though is that my macbook can't use the internet whilst connected, does anyone know how to fix this issue?:(
     
  6. iLukeJoseph macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    #6
    What TV do you have? It is very possible that your TV does not accept Computer resolutions on the HDMI ports. And/or see if one of your HDMI ports is says "DVI" on it. One of my Panasonic Plasma's does not like some common "computer resolutions" unless I use the one HDMI port that says "DVI" on it.

    Of course there is always the option of using a VGA connection (unless you want the ease of audio through HDMI).
     
  7. snook911 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #7
    Thanks for the reply. It worked fine when I had my mac mini hooked up to it but I sold that and bought the macbook. I think its proabably the adapter. I was a cheap $10 dual dvi/HDMI combo. The DVI side works OK to hook up my monitor but the HDMI side I get nothing. I think I'll try a quality adapter from Apple and see if that works. Thanks again.
     
  8. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #8
    Funnily enough my new TV will only detect inputs where something is connected and turned on (great feature btw) but will not automagically switch to it :)
     

Share This Page