MacBook -> TV (Component)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ElCambo, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. ElCambo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #1
    Hey is it possible to connect my macbook to my LCD TV using Component cabling?
     
  2. ElCambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
  3. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #3
    Why do you want to use component, I would stick with S video.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    No way that I know of. Its either DVI/VGA or S-Video/Composite.
     
  5. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #5
    As far as I know there is no cable that will go S video to Component.
     
  6. ElCambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
  7. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #8
  8. windowsblowsass macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    pa
    #9
    well if you would read the post the guy said he'd use svideo it has svideo SVIDEO=SVIDEO holy **** it's not that big of a deal calm down hot shot
     
  9. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #10
    Yeah, somebody needs to calm down for sure, but not him.
     
  10. Finite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #11
    ElCambo Its possible but complicated depending on your TV. Does it accept DVI-I or HDMI? This would be much easier.

    Otherwise

    Mini-DVI to VGA
    http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APP.../wo/StoreReentry.wo?productLearnMore=M9320G/A

    Then
    VGA - Component
    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/vga-rgb-component.html

    Can you tell me what TV you have? It is possible you picture will be out of sync and you will have to purcase another device to correct this. Unless there is a reason for needing the component video chanels DVI or HDMI are more than suitable quality.

    See Here: http://dannypatterson.com/Resources/Blog/EntryDetail.cfm?id=101

    Cheers
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    It actually is quite a big deal. Composite can only carry a 480i signal. A component (three wire) can carry up to 1080p. No HD in composite.
     
  12. ElCambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #13
    My TV is a Phillips 20" It has the Red/Yellow/White/Blue/Green/Red at the back, and it ahs the Red/white/yellow/ and S-Video cable on the side. However it does not support any HDTV
     
  13. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    In that case you won't notice a huge difference between component and s-video.
     

Share This Page