Macbook unibody 8gb ram upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Kaspen, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. Kaspen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #1

    Attached Files:

  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    That will work fine, although you're paying a little bit extra for it to say Apple on it. Those are the correct specs though.
     
  3. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
  4. Kaspen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Thanks, do you know a website where i can get them even cheaper?

    Note: i live in Denmark (Europe), so it has to be a website that sells products in Europe
     
  5. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Sorry! I am in canada and don't really know about shipping to Europe.
     
  6. Kaspen, Oct 21, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011

    Kaspen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #7
  7. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    you will love your new and improved macbook
    LOL
     
  8. Kaspen, Oct 21, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011

    Kaspen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
  9. marshy459 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #10
    Let me know how it goes...

    I recently upgraded to 4gb...I thought that was all it would address. If your jump to 8 works, please share.

    Thx,

    Marsh
     
  10. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68020

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #11
    i upgraded to 8gb 1333Mhz! Kingston!! i think the battery is discharging very qucikly now!! the boot time is same as before!! what can be done?? i have the same macbook as the OP has!
     
  11. nicklad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #12
    Really suggest that you do not - they sell bottom-of-the-barrel binned RAM that usually has no serial number. (Seen in System Information after installing.)

    I made the mistake of purchasing RAM from the company, the first set failed memtest, as did the second and then the third. I got a refund after that, learned my lesson, and bought branded RAM elsewhere. (Crucial in my case.)
     
  12. Kaspen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #13
    Thanks for telling me, I'm probably gonna spend the extra 13 pounds if they are that bad. Do you think that kingston ram are good enough, or should i go for crucial or something like that?
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kingston-Modules-1066MHz-KTA-MB1066K2-8G/dp/B001PS9UKW?tag=5336090759-21
     
  13. marshy459 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #14
    My Kingston 2x2GB work fine.

    Recently put in 4 GB. They were Kingston, packaged and shipped properly and performed without a hitch. They even label it specifically for Apple DDR3.

    These were PC3-8500 1066 2x 2GB SODIMMS

    Very pleased.
     
  14. Kaspen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #15
    Thank you, I'm probably gonna order 8 gigs today :)
     
  15. nicklad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #16
    I've had success with Kingston RAM in the past. They're a reputable company. Hope it all goes well for you!
     
  16. Kaspen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #17
    Hi everyone,
    I successfully installed 8GB of RAM and my machine now runs like a dream!
    The installation took about 5 minutes, and was very easy to do. I would say that my mac runs twice as fast as before, and i would recommend everyone to upgrade to 8GB.
    I installed a virtual machine running windows xp, and it works just fine :)
     
  17. ilciavo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    #18
    Great!!!

    I'm about to get the same memory kit :) can't wait to see the improvement
     

Share This Page