Macbook Unibody screen might be causing me nausea...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by fenrus110, Jul 13, 2009.

1. fenrus110 macrumors regular

Okay, hope this doesn't sound crazy, but I have the Aluminum Macbook and I have a suspicion that it is causing giving me nausea from staring at the screen for too long.

I'm a programmer so I've stared at lots of screens for a long time and can play CounterStrike or Wolf3D for hours without problems. But I don't know, I don't feel right after using my Macbook for a couple hours, even with frequent breaks.

This is my first Macbook I've owned, I've used a matte screen iMac before. My previous laptops have all been glossy screens. Anyone else have problems with this? Perhaps the backlit and glossy is a bad combo for me? Maybe something wrong with the refresh rate? Well any advice or stories would be appreciated!

2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

NewMacbookPlz

Try turning the brightness down a bit maybe? The screen on here is far brighter than most anything I've used recently.

The refresh is the same as other LCD screens, and you said you used glossy screens, so I doubt that's it.

The other thing could be eye strain from the text smoothing perhaps? That can be adjusted in System Preferences-->Appearance

3. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

Is this your first LED screen? It might be the way your eyes react to the backlight of the screen...but I could be wrong.

4. fenrus110 thread starter macrumors regular

Well backlit screens are pretty new, so I think this is my first backlit screen.

Macbook's glossy screen is pretty glossy, should I consider putting a film over the screen to reduce the reflections?

5. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

isaaclimdc

Hm, really? I love the screen on the uMBP. Perhaps it's too bright for you, or the viewing angle + glossy + light behind you just messes with your head..

6. fenrus110 thread starter macrumors regular

7. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020