MacBook video ram failure?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by davidwarren, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #1
    For some reason, my vram repeatedly fails the test in techtool deluxe.
    I initially ran techtool because finder crashed after spotlight froze.

    What does this mean, and how can I fix it?

    I have upgraded to 2Gb of crucial ram that I have removed/reinstalled (1Gbx2), I have a 2.0 Macbook C2D (the new one) on OS X 10.4.10, no software updates available.
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Since VRAM and system RAM are one in the same on a MacBook, I would suspect a problem with your Crucial RAM.
     
  3. davidwarren thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #3
    That's what I thought, I guess I will switch back to the OEM ram and see what happens. Would there be any benefit to switching the positions of the ram modules?
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    I doubt it since the GPU uses dual-channel mode, thus accessing both modules at the same time.
     
  5. davidwarren thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #5
    OK, I switched back to my OEM ram, and the vram still fails techtools. I am currently backing up my important stuff and will try a reinstall of osx. This is a bit too windows-ish for a less than one month old macbook for me....
     
  6. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #6
    Sounds like a hardware failure. Not sure what reinstalling the OS would do. Call Apple
     
  7. davidwarren thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #7
    I'm not either, but it's worth a shot. I'll see how it goes...
     
  8. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #8
    If you are still having problems...do the Apple Hardware Test from the DVDs that you got when you bought the MacBook. That should officially give you the word on whats up. TechTool Deluxe isn't really reliable, just keep an eye on everything. Try the Hardware Test.:)
     
  9. davidwarren thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #9
    Well, I did the short hardware test first, and it said nothing was wrong. I did reinstall OSX, I did -I believe it was called- an archive and install without keeping my network settings, and now most of my iLife suite does not work, it will crash upon opening. Techtools still gives me an intermittant vram failure, sometimes it passes, sometimes not, I have not been able to determine what makes it fail vursus the times it passes.

    I have an appointment later today at my local apple store, so hopefully they can help me out.
     
  10. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #10
    Let me know how that goes. It seems like hardware failure to me.
     
  11. davidwarren thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #11
    Well, after an hour and a half at the apple store, I just did an erase and install of osx and everything seems to be working, except I think I am back to iLife '06.......
    Might be a dumb Q, but why did I get the old one??? The new iLife came pre-installed, so I thought that it would be on the install disk, but I have iPhoto '06...

    My vram still will occasionally fail techtools, but the apple hardware test I have done, and at the store checks out, so I am not sure what the problem was. I guess it was a software issue since the erase and install fixed everything.
     

Share This Page