Macbook vs iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by johnnyt, Jun 4, 2008.

1. johnnyt macrumors newbie

johnnyt

I'm debating on what Mac to buy. I own an acer laptop, but would like to get a Mac. I'm debating between the 2.4 Ghz White MacBook and the 20-inch, 2.66GHz iMac. I'm a grad student and am willing to spend ~$1400. I'm going to get AppleCare regardless. I mainly use my computer for watching movies, websurfing, office, music, and image editing (GIMP). I don't do any video editing or play any video games. I was planning on getting the MacBook, but I think that the added screen size and the faster processor of the iMac might be nice. I could still use my Acer when I'm on the road for websurfing.

I'm also somewhat leaning towards the iMac because it was just updated, and I hear that the Macbooks might get cycled soon, and I'd like to get a Mac now without kicking myself for not waiting if a new model comes out within a month. Obviously the products are going to be updated eventually.

If you have any input as to which way I should go, please let me know!

2. shinchook macrumors regular

shinchook

If you not worried about portability get the iMac. The bigger screen would be better for watching media and it has a dedicated video card rather than shared memory.

3. primes macrumors newbie

Tough call

I Don't like to use a laptop if it is my ONLY machine; but you will be buying AppleCare (hmmmmmmm)

I have an iMac as my primary SOHO machine but also have an older laptop.

Is mobility important?? If not, I would buy the iMac.

You are right, the laptops are due for a MAJOR upgrade this summer (?). You can check out this site:

http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

This is nice the way they let you know when NOT to buy.

4. johnnyt thread starter macrumors newbie

johnnyt