Macbook vs Macbook Pro for audio use

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nocturn, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. nocturn macrumors newbie

    nocturn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Hey all! my names liam and im from Ireland, and this is my first post here :)

    Basically im upgrading from my ibook G4 with 1.2 Ghz pro and 1.2 GB ram. I run a small home studio using Pro Tools, and have recently found my ibook not being able to handle 20-ish tracks with at least 2plug-ins on each track!

    I want to ideally upgrade to the 2.2 Ghz Macbook Pro, but its at a stretch budget-wise, and i wouldnt be able to afford any extra RAM. My question is: would a Macbook 2.16 Ghz with 2GB RAM, be able to handle what im gonna want to be doing or should i borrow, steal and beg for the extra cash for the Macbook Pro?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, as i want to buy this weekend!

    Thank you! Liam.
     
  2. stu.sutherland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #2
    I'd borrow steal and beg for the extra for the Pro, personally.

    Not just for the speed bump, but for the fact you have a larger screen, makes it much easier to mix with when you can see more of your track mixer!

    Plus if you came into 10K you could get yourself a Pro Tools HD1 rig... :) Obviously with the new M-Box family and M-Powered Pro Tools there are plenty of I/O options available.

    But saying that, the MacBook will be an excellent choice for what you want, seeing as you're coming from a 12" I'm guessing you like the portability? Plus it will be lightning fast compared to the iBook.

    I run Logic Pro 8 on a MacBook at work, and it copes 10 times better than my 1.42GHz iBook at home. So if you got the MacBook I think you'd be more than happy with your purchase.
     
  3. nocturn thread starter macrumors newbie

    nocturn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Yea it really needs to be portable.

    Is the 2.2 MBP gonna be THAT much faster than a 2.16 MB with the same RAM? thats whats been annoyin me for weeks!

    Cheers fer the reply though!
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Not really. The only difference would be noticeable if you were doing graphics.
     
  5. nocturn thread starter macrumors newbie

    nocturn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    How so? ill be doing a lot of audio processing, would this not have the same impact? And can the Macbook take up to 3GB RAM? Hows this done, a 2GB and a 1GB?

    Sorry for all the questions, but i really really appreciate all the help!!
     

Share This Page