Macbook VS Macbook Pro Help. New to Mac.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by FederalBmx, Jan 26, 2008.

1. FederalBmx macrumors member

Hi. I'm a new poster but for a a couple of years I have been regularly checking macrumors out. All my life i have been a pc guy. the only time ive ever really used a mac was back in 4th grade during computer class and i was stubborn, decided i hated them because of the whole non left click and hold mouse on menu thing. Anyway im looking for a new laptop want to experiment with macs but at the same time use windows so i know i want one with bootcamp. Im only having a problem deciding between macbook and macbook pro. I want the best of both worlds. Which I know i cant have. I am a machinist and might possibly want to do 3d models and use it for mastercam. Does mac have any similar programs to solidworks and mastercam?

Battery Life- I assume the macbook has the better battery life
    Graphics- Obviously the pro is the way to go in this department.
    Portability- and the smaller macbook wins here as well.

Im thinking of just taking out a loan for a macbook since i have no credit history it would be a good way to get some haha.

Some general questions i have are...
    Can the macbook run windows xp good? how about vista?
    Can the macbook run World Of Warcraft on decent settings?
    Does the aluminum casing on the pro affect wireless that much?
    Should I Wait for a refresh of both products before making a decision but i know i want one before i start college in the fall.
    Is the pro worth the extra money?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Added-1-26-2008 Is the transition from pc to mac as forgiving than back in the day?
    Also is it true you change out the harddrive in the macbook pro?

2. Lord Sam macrumors regular

Lord Sam

Glad you're coming over from the dark side