Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KristenM

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 22, 2007
Alright so I know this has been discussed a billion times before and believe me I've read them all. However, most of the people who have asked which to get are either gamers or video editors or they only want to type papers and get online.
I'm a new Mac convert. I bought an iMac in August and LOVE it. I never thought I would love a computer like this! My HP laptop died the other day after 1 1/2 yrs and I really can't survive without a laptop so I've had it with PCs and am switching to a Macbook.
So, I'm a grad student - a scientist - and I live on my laptops. They go everywhere with me and I beat them to death! Back and forth to school every day and into the field with me several times a year. They stay running pretty much 24/7. I am gauranteed to drop it at least a few times in a year (though perhaps with the Macbook won't be an issue since it always falls after I trip over the powercord).
On a typical day I keep a browser open and iTunes running constantly, run Office and Illustrator most of the day, occasionally run Photoshop when I'm working on a paper, and some smaller science programs that aren't incredibly intensive. I'm notorious for having at least 30 windows open at once.
It flies with me around the world and when I'm in the field it is subjected to hours in the hot sun on a semi-deserted island and power is spotty so the battery life is important to me. When I travel I can't bring much baggage as I need to fly in on a very small plane and then travel the rest of the way on either seaplane or small boat so size is important to me.
I'll occasionally watch movies on it but I don't edit videos or music or anything and I don't play games on it (unless solitaire when I'm procrastinating counts).
So let's say that money isn't an option....which MacBook/Macbook Pro should I get?

squeeks