MacBook vs. MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by OMAN9520, Feb 14, 2008.

1. OMAN9520 macrumors newbie

I'm a student who has previously used PCs, my old computer has died and after using other people's Macs, is ready to switch over.

The problem is I can't decide between the MacBook and MacBook Pro. The computer doesn't have to be extremely portable as I am not going to be doing a lot of traveling, but i would like to be able to take it around the house. I will be using the internet A LOT and doing a lot of typing papers with it as well as watching a lot of videos. Although i have not yet done any, I would like to get into video editing as well. Lastly, I am a fan of big screens and price is a moderate concern.

I would like the computer to be new, not used, and I would like to keep it for about 3 years.

Karl Blingmpton

2. Ryox macrumors 6502a

Ryox

Umm, entry level Macbook Pro if you can afford it, if not a Macbook

3. IMcD23 macrumors regular

IMcD23

Iowa, United States, Earth, Milky Way, . . .
    If you just want basic computing, and smaller laptop, get a macbook. If you want to do video editing, or want a big screen, get a MBP. If price is a moderate concern, get a macbook pro.

4. tennisplaayer11 macrumors member

I think it depends on what kind of video editing you want to do. If it's just like home videos w/ iMovie, then from what you described I think a BlackBook should be fine, but if you want to do more professional stuff with Final Cut, you will probably need a MBP because the graphics on a MB won't work well with FCE or FCP.

5. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

basesloaded190

like every one else said, depends on how much video editing you want to do. my macbook can do video editing, but i don't do anything extremely intensive. if a larger display is a must, than a pro is good for you. if you can handle the 13.3" inch than get a macbook and max out the ram and get the biggest hdd you can

6. OMAN9520 thread starter macrumors newbie