Macbook VS Macbook Pro....

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stieny, Dec 16, 2008.

1. stieny macrumors member

Hi all,

I'm new to the mac world. I got an iPhone back in September and its been great thus far. My sister got a Macbook last year and she swears by it so I decided to switch from my very old and outdated PC to a Mac.

I'm getting it in the next few days and I've been looking at the 2.4 Macbook and the 2.4 MacPro.

I've searched the forums a bit but haven't found any threads that really talk about the two and compare them besides the thread about the screen differences.

Well, I guess the big differences are the extra graphic card, (I'm not really sure how it works but I know it is better for graphics/video editing) the screen is a bit better with the Pro and obviously the size difference.

Is it really worth spending the extra money on? I've never really used a mac before so I know very little about them.

Thanks

*Edit: I should also probably include that I use my computer for about everything. Right now I use it mainly for school but I also watch some movies and would eventually like to get into making and editing movie clips.

2. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

SteveMobs

There are lots and lots of threads like this, but no worries, you're here now.

This question ultimately comes down to what you use the computer for.

Basic internet surfing, MS office, Homework, etc. is for the Macbook. But the MB is a stout little computer capable of handling more robust things if necessary.

If you're going to be doing stuff like video editing, intense photo stuff, photoshop, etc. then I'd say the Macbook Pro is a safer bet.

Differences between the 2.4 MB and the 2.4 MBP are a seperate video card, a firewire port, and the size. The screen on the MBP does look a little bit better, in that the colors look richer and more saturated. But that's something you should check out for yourself.

Hope this helps.

3. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution