Macbook w/ 500+GB HD

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by wclark03, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. wclark03 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Is it generally okay/safe to replace a stock (250GB) HD in a macbook with a 500GB - 750GB HD with out changing anything else within it?
     
  2. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #3
    Generally safe? Short of brute forcing in a misaligned drive (upside down or something like that) or one that is too thick, nothing can really go wrong. Apple lists the HDD as a user-replaceable part, so you're all set.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    You have been here for a while and may have seen some threads from people who aren't even able to switch on the computer they just on, thus my comment about switching HDDs as being generally safe, unless one is clumsy or uses a pitchfork to get rid of the coke spilled into the thin cup holder.
     
  4. wclark03 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Okay.
    I was just wondering if putting a 500-750 GB HD in the laptop that originally came with a 250GB HD would be too much for it for any reason. :p

    Thank you :D
     
  5. chipz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Voorhees, NJ
    #6
    Macbook w/500+GB HD

    It can be done and very easily. I replaced my 250 GB HDD 5400 rpm with a 500 GB 7200 rpm drive in just a few minutes. Just make sure you put the HDD in correctly.
     
  6. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    It'll work no worries. Just make sure it's a 9.5mm drive. Some of the bigger capacity drives (640GB upwards) are 12mm tall and won't fit in the bay properly.
     
  7. ThomasJL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #8
    If you do a Time Machine backup, then a clean install of Snow Leopard to your new HD, and then import all the information from the Time Machine backup during the setup process the first time you turn on your computer, it should be safe. However, if you're impatient and try use one of those drive cloning programs, it could be unsafe.
     

Share This Page