MacBook White upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by skaertus, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. skaertus macrumors 68030

    skaertus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1
    I currently have a white MacBook 4,1. It's the model released in early 2008, with a Core 2 Duo (Penryn) 2.4 GHz processor, 2 GB RAM and a 160 GB HD.

    I am thinking of upgrading it to give it some new life. So I intend to put more memory (4 GB) and a 128 GB SSD (instead of the slow 5,400 RPM HD).

    I have two questions:

    1. The MacBook has two memory slots. Each one is filled with 1 GB DDR2 at 667 MHz. I would like to put 2 GB in each slot. According to Apple, I should use two similar memory modules. Would it be possible to put 800 MHz modules, since the MacBook has a FSB of 800 MHz?

    2. Although Apple recommends not to swith the HD in the white MacBook, I've seen many people doing that. Is there something I must be aware of in switching the HD for an SSD?
     
  2. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    I can answer the memory question. Using overrated ram shouldn't cause any issues. When upgrading I usually get a speed over what the default it is.
     
  3. skaertus thread starter macrumors 68030

    skaertus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    Thank you. That was helpful.

    I would also like to know about the SSD, though. My MacBook has a SATA 160 GB HD. I've found a Corsair Force GT SSD for sale, and it is SATA 3 (but backwards compatible with both SATA and SATA 2). Does anybody know if this SSD would work with the MacBook?
     
  4. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    I expect it would, but I have no first hand knowledge on it.
     
  5. skaertus thread starter macrumors 68030

    skaertus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    Thank you, I'll give it a try.
     
  6. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    Please dont put anything other than PC5300 (667 MHz) ram in that MacBook - it will only boot with at least 1 genuine PC5300 chip in it....

    You can fit 6GB though - one 4GB and one 2GB (just as long as one of them is PC5300 - the other can be faster PC6400 (800MHz) but it won't run any faster than PC5300 ram !!
     
  7. skaertus thread starter macrumors 68030

    skaertus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brazil
    #7
    Thank you. I thought the MacBook would support a maximum of 4 GB.
     
  8. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    apple always understates the max ram. My iMac, apple says 16GB, I have 32GB. I have an 08 Blackbook and it runs excellent with a 4GB and 2GB combo.
     
  9. skaertus thread starter macrumors 68030

    skaertus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brazil
    #9
    Thank you. Anyway, I don't think I will need more than 4 GB of RAM in this MacBook... it's just to run Lion smoothly.
     

Share This Page