Macbook Wifi Connect- No Internet Connection

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by gordonchow18, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. gordonchow18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #1
    Macbook Air Early 2014, bought in August.

    Wifi Status Connected but internet does not work for anything including Spotify, App store, Safari etc EXCEPT Chrome and Skype calls, but can't message or screen share in it.

    Did a network diagnostic, all green lights except Internet and Server, both red.

    No proxies checked in settings,

    TCP/IP:
    Configure IPv4: Using DHCP
    IPv4: 192.162.2.2
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Router: 192.162.2.1

    DNS:
    DNS Servers: 192.162.2.1

    Tried Tried restarting mac and router, resetting router, flushing DNS, recreating network (with and without new location), changing DNS servers (i.e. google 8.8.8.8).

    Please Help, Many Thanks!
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Did you try using another computer or device that is connecting wirelessly. Sounds less like a computer issue, and more of a router issue maybe.
     
  3. gordonchow18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #3
    Yeah, tried it with my other mac and android phone, all worked perfectly. Pretty sure it's some problem with the computer.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Easiest solution though a bit drastic is to backup your data and reinstall OS X. If possible install Mavericks as thins may be an issues with Yosemite.

    Sorry I don't have anything more helpful :(
     
  5. gordonchow18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #5
    Yeah, that is what I was thinking to do soon maybe over the weekend if I still couldn't find a solution. Thanks for trying to help though! :)
     
  6. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #6
    Rolling back to Mavericks should solve your problem, it did for me...
     
  7. dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #7
    I don't know if this is a typo, but 192.162.2.x is a publicly routed network. Your router should be set to 192.168.2.1

    Since your Mac is picking up the first DHCP assigned address (192.162.2.2), it seems you don't have any other devices going through this router. Maybe you can use something else and verify that it is working?
     
  8. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #8
    Second the above to double-check your DNS matches your ISPs DNS addresses.

    Even using Google's on some ISPs can result in less than optimal routing.
     
  9. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #9
    Some Linksys routers, and maybe others, have a DNS proxy function and set the DNS server address as the router address when DHCP is used.
     
  10. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #10
    Of course but only to a private address on the LAN, OP was quoting a public ip address which needs confirming whether that even is a valid DNS server as specified by his ISP.
     
  11. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #11
    I reread the OP and see it now. That is a google server and should be fine but might be a problem on some ISPs as you say.
     
  12. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #12
    Even potentially more complex as some ISPs are starting to prevent access to their DNS servers from outside their network due to the prevalence of DNS attack vectors....
     
  13. dyt1983, Jan 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #13
    edit: To remove personally identifying info not relevant to the conversation.
     
  14. gordonchow18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #14
    Yes sorry it was a typo, all '.162.'s were meant to be '.168.'s

    I would love to try returning to mavs however, as mentioned, I can't connect to the app store thus unable to reinstall yosemite/down grade to another osx.

    And yes DNS matches with ISP's DNS address.
     

Share This Page