Macbook Wireless Doesn't Work

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by InfinityFX, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. InfinityFX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #1
    I have the Macbook in my sig. Under OS X 10.6.5, the wireless simply doesn't work. I can see our home network, and I get 3 or 4 bars, but it always times out when trying to connect.

    From what I remember, under 10.5.8, it worked fine. Under Win7 Pro x64 (via Bootcamp), the wireless works great.

    Thoughts on what the problem may be? I really don't want to have to go out and buy a copy of 10.5 (original owner of the Macbook lost the disks), especially considering I paid for 10.6
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  3. InfinityFX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #3
    Done that many, many times. This isn't just with our network, it's also the case with the school network and friends networks. Even when it's sitting 1 foot away from the router, it doesn't work.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    In System Preferences -> Network -> Airport, what does it say in the preference pane? Do you have DHCP configured in the Advanced -> TCP/IP pane?
     
  5. InfinityFX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #5
    Sorry, which pane is the 'preference pane'? :eek:

    DHCP is configured, using ethernet, either directly from the router or as a bridge through my Thinkpad works great
     
  6. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    Does your MacBook work fine when plugged into Eathernet?
     
  7. InfinityFX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #7
    Perfectly. That's how I'm posting from it now :)
     
  8. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #8
    FAIL. Here, look:

    First pic is the pane he is talking about. (Prefs -> Network -> AirPort). Then click on "Advanced" and look under the TCP/IP tab (second pic).
     

    Attached Files:

  9. InfinityFX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #9
    Ohhhh, that's what I had, I just wasn't sure if there was something else I was supposed to be looking for.

    Would a screenshot of what I have be any use?
     
  10. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #10
    Probably... I'm not exactly a Mac networking genius, or else I would have fixed it for you already. :p

    Someone else might chime in and find out what you're doing wrong.
     
  11. InfinityFX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #11
    OK, will boot in to X later and investigate :)

    The WiFi has also started acting flaky in Win7 as well, so maybe my WiFi card is just going bad? :(
     

Share This Page