MacBook won't boot after installing beta and restarting

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by johnnnw, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. johnnnw, Jul 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

    johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #1
    Well this is annoying, MacBook installed beta, I went through the set up and then I needed to restart. Did so and now it won't boot at all.

    It shows a progress bar and then about half way shows a circle with a line through it.

    Help. Not sure what to do.

    Picture

    http://postimg.org/image/6s4v1i0cb/
     
  2. johnnnw thread starter macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    Did you try holding down the option key during boot? If so, what did it display? If that didn't show anything different than your pic, did you try recovery mode? How old is your Mac? Looks like it isn't able to see your HD.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    The "prohibited" symbol usually indicates that something in the boot software is corrupted, or installed incorrectly, or that the hardware isn't configured properly to boot to that system.
    I would suggest that the system just is not installed correctly.
    Does your MacBook have other partitions that might "confuse" the boot process, like a Boot Camp partition with Windows?
    Reboot to your Recovery system (Command-R), choose Disk Utility, then Repair Disk - just as a check.
    (Does your boot drive have plenty of free space for the install?)
    Then Quit Disk Utility, and continue with a Reinstall OS X.

    Make sure that nothing else is attached to your MacBook, such as external storage/printer, etc. while the install is progressing.
     
  5. johnnnw, Jul 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

    johnnnw thread starter macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #5
    I indeed do have a bootcamp partition.

    So I need to reinstall OSX ML (my 2012 MacBook shipped OS) and then upgrade?

    This won't delete my bootcamp will it?
     
  6. DiabBarca, Jul 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

    DiabBarca macrumors regular

    DiabBarca

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Location:
    Omdurman - Sudan
    #6
    Same issue
    Please heeeeelp

    -----

    Sorry I didn't see the picture, my case is different. I didn't have that sign on my screen
     
  7. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  8. Montymitch macrumors regular

    Montymitch

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #8
    Same issue here. Nothing attached, wouldn't let me boot in. I ended up erasing the disk and I'm restoring from a backup right now.
    2010 MBP 15" with a samsung ssd.
     
  9. johnnnw thread starter macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #9
    Yes. Now that I think of it I had JUST installed chameleon. Why did this cause it to happen?

    I am currently restoring to a TM backup I made right before I installed the beta

    2012 MBP with a Samsung SSD
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Looks like Chameleon has good steps for removing the effected driver files.
    You may want to do that, and wait until Cham… is updated to support 10.10.
    http://chameleon.alessandroboschini.it/faq.php

    Here's how I would proceed. When your restore is complete, reinstall ML. I would probably run through relevant steps to make sure there's no trace of Chameleon - assuming you want to try Yosemite again. I hope you have a backup copy of the ML installer, as the Yosemite probably replaced the Recovery partition on your SSD. I have ML installer on a USB thumb drive. That might be really handy for you, too!
    Keep in mind - there's a reason that Yosemite is called a beta - it's not finished. and some kinds of installations may have unintended consequences, including not booting at all. Having a good backup before you install a major system beta is really important (and now you have good experience with that)
    I just hope that you don't have to wipe the drive completely (forcing you to restore your Windows partition from its backup.) As you did mention the Boot Camp partition, you need a backup or THAT using some nice Windows backup software, too. Winclone is one that folks mention as a good one.
    Finally, report to Apple about your difficulties with Yosemite, as that's one of the "duties" that you have as a beta tester.
     

Share This Page