Macbook won't boot after RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dojonate, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. dojonate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere, over the rainbow
    #1
    I finally decided to upgrade the RAM in my '07 Macbook from 1 GB to 2 GB. I take out both of the old DIMMs, put in the new ones, and the sleep light comes on, but no actual booting.

    I power it off again, take out one of the new DIMMs, put in one of the old ones, and it boots just fine with one of the old, one of the new. I go to System Profiler, and it reports 1.5 GB. I power it off again, and trade out one new DIMM for the other. It boots, and reports 1.5 GB again. I power off, take out the old DIMM again, put in the other new one, so it has both new 1 GB sticks, and it refuses to boot once again.

    I've checked, and both DIMMs are seated properly. With it booting and reporting both of DIMMs when paired with an old one, I'd think that they both are good. What could I have done wrong?
     
  2. krburrell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
  3. JohnPhamlore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #3
    I upgraded mid-2007 successfully to 3GB

    I have a mid-2007 Macbook 2.1 that I upgraded to 3GB using Crucial ram kit CT2KIT25664AC667 (2 2GB). I accepted having a "wasted" 1GB since I wanted a matching pair for maximum compatibility. Lion now runs very cool for me, much less usage of the fan than when there was only 2GB.
     
  4. dojonate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere, over the rainbow
    #4
    Type of RAM

    They're SO-DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300 1GB each.

    As a side note, both SO-DIMMs pass the memory test in Micromat's TechTool Deluxe when booted with an old 512 MB SO-DIMM.

    And I'd like to install Lion, but it refuses until I have 2 GB
     
  5. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    The new ram modules must be PC6400 (or even PC5400) and you presumably have a late 2007 MacBook (model identifier 3,1 - with media keys on F7 to F10 ?)

    If so then you will need to return the ram - it will never boot with 2 x PC5400/6400 modules only with 1 x PC5300 and 1 x PC5400/6400 which with the modules you have will not give you 2GB ram or be able to run the Lion installer....
     
  6. JohnPhamlore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #6
    Highly unlikely Macbook 3,1

    If the original poster had a Santa Rose late-2007 Macbook 3,1, I highly doubt the attempted upgrade would be to only 2GB instead of the officially stated Apple limit of 4GB. (Unofficially haven't some even claimed the Santa Rosas can take 6GB?) Even the priciest upgrades to 4GB before tax and shipping are at around $50 USD. The mid-2007 Macbooks would have been available for the back-to-school discounts for students.

    As I have written above, even mid-2007 Macbook 2,1s can (unofficially) be upgraded to 3GB, an upgrade that I have found to be an excellent investment if one is using Lion. (I am now thinking I should have done this long ago for Snow Leopard as well.)

    If a product has been on the market as long as 2007 Macbooks, I strongly advise only using ram for which one can find someone else reviewing as working in one's exact model.
     
  7. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    I have a 2g stick and a 1g stick of PC2 5300 running Lion on my MBP 2,1.

    It's quite odd that they both pass the memory test separately but won't work together.

    You could try resetting the the PRAM - a super duper long shot. Other than that, you should send it back and get different RAM.
     
  8. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #8
    TechTool is a piece of crap.

    Burn an ISO of this to disc and boot from it:

    http://www.memtest.org/
     
  9. dojonate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere, over the rainbow
    #9
    Thank you all (and yes, it is a MB 3,1 - I wanted to only upgrade to 2 GB, as I have other uses for the leftover $20ish)
     
  10. jdm2112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    I'm having the exact same problem. Trying to upgrade my mom's white Macbook 3,1 from 2007 to 2gb RAM in order to put Lion on, but not allowing me to install past 1.5 Ghz. First, I tried 2 1GB PC2-5300 in each slot. Would not boot. I tried each of the new 1GB in one of the 2 slots with the old 512 MB and that always worked. Just can't get the 2 1GB to work together. This machine is supposed to accept up to 4GB.

    So, any more suggestions or advice would be greatly accepted.

    Thanks,
    J

    ----------

    Looks like I need to look into Crucial based on other posts that I have been reading. Hmmmmm
     
  11. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    2GB is a bare minimum for Lion - you really need 4GB

    Your 1GB chips are obviously not true PC5300 - PNY by any chance ?

    If you can return them and think about 4GB instead.
     
  12. vancegate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #12
    Fixed!!!

    I had the exact same problem with updating the RAM on my late 2007 macbook, and it was the PNY RAM. I switched to Kingston Value RAM (PC2-5300 667 MHz 2x2GB) and it worked great! I've upgraded to Lion and its working great.
     
  13. jdm2112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #13
    They were PNY. Ordered 2 2GB from Crucial. Guessing those will work fine.

    Thanks!
     
  14. dacahe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #14
    Same problem but one or the other not both RAM sticks

    Hi, I just upgraded an Intel based late 2006 MBP but I get the black screen.

    Here is what is puzzling to me. If I cannot install two memory sticks at the same time.

    If have them individually in slot 1 (the default) I can turn the computer on and it actually does recognize the whole 2G (New memory) but if I try to put both the old (1GB default) and the new at the same time it won't start, it turns on but it does not boot, as if it was in Sleep Mode.

    Any thoughts?

    MBP running Snow Leopard

    Old Memory: 1GB Samsung 2RX8 PC2-5300S-55-12-E3
    New Memory: 2GB OWC PC5300 DDR2 667MHz 200 Pin SO-DIMM

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page