Macbook won't boot weird thing

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Gideon E, May 14, 2008.

1. Gideon E macrumors newbie

Hello ,
    I'm new to Mac OS , i have the laptop about 3 months .... , i reinstalled leopard everything worked great and after couple of hours the computer
    froze i pressed the reset button and the OS won't start since .
    i tried to boot from the Install Disk that came with the laptop and still , i inserted the disk reset and computer pressed C nothing happened ...... tried again and pressed D ....... and again with COMMAND + OPTION + P+R ......... COMMAND + OPTION + O+F ...
    taking out the battery unplugging the AC and pressing the power button ...... , when i press OPTION and select Install Disk as boot i get the gray screen with the spinning logo i tried it like that couple of times even left it for 2 hours and it didn't boot .

the computer can only operate if i press OPTION when booting and selecting windows partition .

I'm currently using Windows and the DVD works fine i don't have any problem with windows or any hardware or the Mac OS X Install DVD .

what's weird is that i can boot with Windows Installation Disk with no
    problems .

any ideas ?

Thanks
    Gideon .

2. krye macrumors 68000

krye

Do you have access to an Apple store? Maybe they can brute force wipe the drive.

Or if you have access to a 2.5" USB hdd enclosure and another Mac you can take the drive out, put it on the enclosure, and wipe the drive and reformat it. Start clean.

3. macdot macrumors 6502

When you Option Boot you should be given the option to boot from the install CD...

4. Gideon E thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for replying .

i don't think that there's any problems with the HD or the DVD/CD , I'm currently using Windows and i didn't saw any problems the HD and DVD/CD operates normally .