Macbook wont rec new WD scorp blue...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MikeSantor, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. MikeSantor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #1
    I just want to start off by saying I have searched the last 3 hours on google and I got nothing.

    Specs

    2.o C2D blackbook
    1gb ram
    os x 10.5.6 install DVD. this is the full OS, not the disk that came with the laptop(which i dont have)

    Just got the WD scorp blue 500gb from newegg this morning.

    Select language
    acknowledge all the legal stuff
    then when it says "select a destination" theres nothing under it. I tried holding down D and i get the little colorful spinny mouse icon then nothing. Tried holding C and it does nothing.

    put in OG HD and it boots fine, Then I put the new HD in and nothing.

    Anyone have any advice?


    back to searching google...
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. MikeSantor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #3
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Is there some kind of jumper setting on the new drive?
    Example

    Do you have an external 2.5" SATA enclosure, to see if it is recognized there?
     
  5. MikeSantor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #5
    No jumpers that I can fin on the hd. I do not have am external case either. And to top it off the power in me neighborhood just went out... ****** day. This is driving me nuts
     
  6. Benchmob31 macrumors member

    Benchmob31

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Sacramento, CA
    #6
    Clone the new harddrive first. Even if you want a fresh install, you can atleast clone it and then wipe it out with the OS X cd. Macs dont do well formatting a clean hdd. I did it on my mac mini hdd using superduper and worked great.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Power off and still internet? Wow.

    You should contact Newegg and ask for their support, maybe even ask to return it, as it doesn't seem to work properly.

    When I bought a 2.5" drive for replacing my internal MBP drive, it just worked. So it shouldn't be that hard actually. So I think the drive might be broken somehow.

    Maybe someone will chime in at a later point and offer some kind of epiphany.

    Enjoy the darkness. ;)


    EDIT:

    To Benchmob: Cloning requires an external HDD enclosure, and the OP doesn't have one as it seems, but I agree, that it should come in handy. I use my old drive in an enclosure as a scratch disk of some sorts, as it is an 7200rpm drive.
     
  8. MikeSantor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
  9. xtacyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #9
    Thats the problem, the blackberry storm.
     
  10. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #10
    Take the drive out, and put it back in...very firmly.

    Lately it seems >90% of the HD installation issues on here are from users not seating the drive on the connection properly.
     
  11. MikeSantor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #11
    Well boys and girls since we last met...

    I sweat about 8 lbs off.

    I got an external case

    Partitioned the WD using GUID

    Didnt work

    Erased and Re Partitioned with Guide

    Power came back on...

    Tried the WD in a completely different MB with the same results.

    Tried the other MB HD in the one im trying to get to work and it works.

    So basically I narrowed it down and it IS the HD.

    So now I have the stock HD in it, The WD connected via external enclosure and I ran the DVD AND IT SAW THE WD!!!!

    WTF, it DOSNT see the WD when its in the MB but it DOES when its in the enclosure!!!

    So as soon as its done installing im going to rip out the stock HD and HOPEFULLY the newly partitioned and installed WD will work.

    Thanks for all the help so far guys!
     
  12. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #12
    Did you try really pushing the new drive into the internal slot to make sure it's level on both sides and as far in as it can be?

    What you're describing sounds spot on for that being the issue...
     
  13. MikeSantor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #13
    Yes I did try that and I do agree that's exactly what it sounds like. But in total between the old drive and the new drive I put them In about 15 times. What are the odds that EVERY time I put the stock drive in it was seated correctly and EVERY time I put the WD drive in it WASNT seated correctly?

    I agree its still a possibility but we will know as soon as OS X is done loading from the external position. If I go to put the WD in and it still dosnt read then I know its just not seating properly.

    Ill let you know because Theirs only 15 minutes left of loading time...
     
  14. MikeSantor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #14
    :D






    Worked. WTF was that about? Thanks again for everyone's suggestions.
     

Share This Page