MacBook won't start on MagSafe! Can only run on battery :(

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by wywywywy, Apr 10, 2008.

1. wywywywy macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I am diagnosing a problem with a Macbook I have at the moment, and I have some experience in fixing iBooks and Mac Minis in the past.

The problem is that the MagSafe doesn't seem to be providing power to the Macbook, despite the green light always showing. The battery of course doesn't charge from it. The Macbook however works fine when powering from the battery. I am pretty sure the MagSafe is not dead because I tried it on another Macbook and it seems to work. Looking at the board, there doesn't seem to be any short pin, nor burnt components.

So to recap -
    1. When powering from battery, Macbook starts
    2. When powering from MagSafe only (battery removed), Macbook doesn't start
    3. MagSafe always shows green light when plugged in, but doesn't charge
    4. MagSafe doesn't seem to be dead (there isn't any stuck pin etc either)

Okay so, any ideas guys? Any diagnostic I can try?

I've done a search but can't find anything. Is it a common problem or not?

Thanks.

2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

sounds like there's a problem with the power supply of your MacBook internally, take it to Apple for them to take a look.

3. wywywywy thread starter macrumors newbie

First of all, sorry for double post.

The owner has taken it to Apple and of course Apple suggested a logic board replacement, which seems to be their standard answer. For the record, they said the same thing with my two iBooks and my Mac Mini.

I think it has to be the Macbook itself rather than the MagSafe, but I just can't think of a way to figure out which component is at fault.

Thanks.

4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

So the logic board replacement failed. So why don't they try replacing the entire bottom case?