macbook wont start up completely..whats wrong?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jmacp2112, May 9, 2010.

1. Jmacp2112 macrumors newbie

Ok, so, I'm new to Mac's and I am having some troubles with my macbook this morning. For starters, when I power it on, the macbook makes it passed the chime noise to the loading screen with the apple logo and spinning circle. It pauses for about a minute, maybe a minute and a half, and then the screen goes black, and the computer shuts off.

Also, i do not yet have a copy of the install disks.
    And I'm running Mac OS X 10.5.2

Any help would be really great! I just want to rid this fantastic machine of its slight bug(s), and use it to its full potential!

Jmacp2112

2. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

Have you checked the obvious things such as checking to make sure the RAM is seated correctly in the macine? As you don't have the disks I would take it to Apple and get them to have a look at it.

3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

uh oh. sounds like part of the OS may be damaged - which means that you NEED the installation discs to check and verify whether its dead or not :(

4. Jmacp2112 thread starter macrumors newbie

DewGuy1999: I completed the steps to reset the SMC, however that did not help, the same symptoms appeared. Thank you for the link, however.

DoFoT9: Is there any possible way of acquiring the install disks for 10.5.2 for free?

Thanks again all,

Jmacp2112

5. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

DewGuy1999

6. hamlinspahn macrumors regular

Snow Leopard

You can get snow leopard for 29$, if it doesn't work you could always sell the SL on ebay or CL. And if it does work you would have legal media for future problems.

7. Jmacp2112 thread starter macrumors newbie