macbook won't turn on

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by magneto259, Oct 8, 2009.

1. magneto259 macrumors newbie

Hello all i'm a mac newbie and have a problem. I got a macbook as a fixer upper and it is dead in the water. It won't turn on but the screen did flicker once. The magsafe adapter keeps flashing amber and green. Which i believe means there is a problem. I tried looking up magsafe flash codes but couldn't find a good list. When the power button is pressed nothing happens at all with exception of the one time the screen flickered. I called a local shop that works on apple equipment and the said it could be the adapter(but not likely), magsafe board, inverter board, or the logic board. I took out the inverter board and it looks fine under a microscope and i buzzed out the connectors which all showed a connection to one or the other. I don't know if they are correct or not since i don't have a wiring diagram for it. By the was i also tried to fire it up without the ram in, hard drive and battery and still no go. I looked up inverter boards and all it shows is the ones for the lcd backlighting. Would this cause a flashing magsafe adapter and no start condition? If anybody else has had this problem and fixed it or any suggestions I would be really greatful. Thanks in advance!

2. magneto259 thread starter macrumors newbie

Oops i mean i checked out the magsafe board not the inverter board. Thanks!

3. magneto259 thread starter macrumors newbie

Another quick question will a different logic board fit in this or do i need to get the same processor speed to work with the existing drives and such. Here are my system specs
    Processor Type: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Product Family: MacBook
    Processor Speed (per Core): 2 GHz
    Screen Size: 13 inch
    Processor Configuration: Dual Core
    Included Memory (RAM): 1 GB
    Primary Drive: DVD+/-RW

4. magneto259 thread starter macrumors newbie