Macbook...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by guitarmaster18, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. guitarmaster18 macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #1
    I have a couple questions about my macbook

    1. I just bought it now knowing that there was going to be the upgrade to the new "Santa Rosa" versions with 2.16 GHz core duo and an upgraded GMA... I feel stupid. I tried to max out my MacBook (2.0 GHz Core 2 duo, black, 250 GB HD, Hooked up to a 1920x1200 cinema, with 2 GB of ram) but now, I feel like a stupid idiot and the new macbooks are going to be much faster... Will I be able to sell mine and have enough $$$ to get a Santa Rosa when they come out???

    2. What is the ram limit? I was thinking about upgrading to 3 gb (I use photoshop and alot of ram intensive stuff...), but I don't know what the max is!

    Could you guys clear this up for me??? Would I have to worry about the Santa Rosa versions?? Thanks
     
  2. NotFound macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #2
    you just bought the thing....

    chill out and enjoy it for a while. if you feel that bad about it after you have enjoyed what you have then just sell it- macs have great resell value if you can afford all the bells and whistles of the best technology offered today then im sure you will be more than ok upgrading again..

    but seriously, when santa rosa is announced i guarantee that the next generation processor will be roadmapped as well. technology is always changing.
     
  3. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #3
    Yeah, your right... I do like it by the way, it is the best computor I have ever had... But, do you know the ram limit??
     
  4. NotFound macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
  5. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
  6. hopejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    #6
    IIRC it's 2GB for MacBook (3GB for MBP's)
     
  7. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #7

    No, it is actually 3GB.
     
  8. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #8
    Did you aftermarket the HD? The Macbook only goes to a 200GB.
    The MacBook is 2GB, the MacBook Pro is 3GB

    Hey, nobody knows when SR MacBooks will come out, or even if it's before Fall, or even next year. That, and the speed bump will be incremental, anyway, you'd probably never notice the difference. Any talk about upgrading the video is just rumor at this stage, as well.

    Relax, you have a great laptop. Unless you can catch Steve Jobs talking in his sleep, we won't know until an official announcement.
     
  9. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #9
    The macbook can use all 3GBs of memory. Not just the Macbook Pro.
     
  10. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #10
    From http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303721:

    "Depending on the configuration of the MacBook you purchased, both memory slots may already be full. The maximum amount of memory you can install in your MacBook is 2 GB (using 1 GB DIMMs in both memory slots)."
     
  11. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #11
  12. polevault139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    No it won't. It will fit but only 2GB will be recognized. Please dont listen to him, just misinformed.

    As for you Airforce I think that it is great that you want to help people with their problems but no information is better than wrong information. Please do some research before you go and put an idea in someones head. You should probably read JohnNotBeatle. He actually has provided a link that proves his point. It is kind of like a paper for school. You cannot just say anything without backing it up. So kudos to you JohnNotBeatle, good job with clearing up the situation.

    Again the MB will only accept 2GB of RAM.
    Remember the MB will only accept 2GB of RAM
     
  13. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #13
    It will work with 3GB. Listen to me or not, that's the truth. I provided a link as well. Move along.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/Reviews/Framework.cfm?page=/Tips/macbookcore23gb/macbookcore23gb.html


     
  14. polevault139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #14
    Alright I stand corrected and I apoligize.

    Looking at the results however doesn't really warrant the cost of the 2GB chip to me.
     
  15. SWC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #15
    I just got $1500 for my CD blackbook with 2 GB ram and a 160 GB hard drive about 3-4 weeks ago. So basically I lost the cost of the upgrades ($350) in a year.
     
  16. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #16
    So, Apple is wrong, and Other World Computing knows better?

    I'd love to be able to install and have 3GB recognized. Can you provide a technical review (or at least an "About this Mac" screenshot)? I have more than a little problem taking a memory vendor's ad as proof. But if that is sufficient, then how about:

    http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=MacBook+2.0GHz+Intel+Core+Duo+(13-inch+Black)

    or:

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...-MacBook+13-inch&distributor=0&submit1=Search

    I'm not trying to start a pi**ing contest here. It's just a matter of providing accurate information, not just a misprint (or fraudulent configuration claims) from a single vendor.

    Oh, and that link is a dead end to a blank OWC page.

    EDIT: I see your update as well. OWC's "test" notwithstanding, why does that still indicate good advice, particularly when the manufacturer and two highly-regarded memory providers not even suggest that? You think they haven't tried? I believe I'd query Apple Support before I threw my money at this one.
     
  17. Photo-Mac-Guy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #17
    I have read the same as Airforce.....3GB will work with the Macbook. Only the newer Macbooks will work with 3GB though. I believe I read late 2006 models and newer.
     
  18. iJawn108 macrumors 65816

    iJawn108

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #18
    The likely hood of apple upping the macbook before the pros is not likely at all, and i doubt they will release a whole new line up all at once. The mac mini will see a refresh before the macbooks. If you were willing to wait months for a new machine... that's something else entirely.
     
  19. phidauex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #19
    C2D Macbooks WILL accept and address 3GB of memory. They will let you put 4GB in, but it will still only address 3GB of it.

    I'm looking for the screenshots I saw of this process earlier... Both an "about this mac" shot and an activity monitor shot showing the addressed memory are around. Like I said, though, this is only for the C2D macbooks.

    peace,
    sam
     

Share This Page