MacBook2,1 Won't boot up

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by branchline, Jan 2, 2009.

1. branchline macrumors newbie

Hi and Happy New Year,

Newbie here, and in the middle of writing a final paper for a Masters Degree when my 14 month old MacBook2,1 locked up on me this morning - noting this was just after saving a Word file and as I was getting up to go and get my external hard drive that I cleared space on last evening to do a backup! I've lost about two weeks of work and need to recover it urgently.

The notebook locked up solid so I had to turn the notebook off by holding the 'power on' button down. On turning it back on again I got the beep, the blue screen, then the apple logo followed by the rotating clock symbol which just keep on rotating. I did this several times with the same results.

The battery is charged up (power is connected anyway) and there was nothing else attached to the computer, ie printer, memory stick etc at the time. I have removed and refitted the battery - just for good measure of course!

I've managed to insert and run the OS X disk 1 and run a hardware test, both normal and extended. It successfully passed with no faults found several times. However, when I try 'Restart' it just goes to the blue screen, apple logo and clock symbol again.

By holding the option key down on turn on, I get the HD and Disk icons on the screen but again when I click on the arrows the macbook goes into the blue screen routine again.

Is there anything else I can do myself?

Would appreciate any assistance

Regards

BH

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Well, the bad news is that it sounds like your issues are hard drive-related. The good news is that it may only affect OS X's ability to boot from the drive, and your data may still be accessible normally. If not, there are data recovery utilities that may work for you, so all is not lost.