macbook9,2 Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by perlsyntax, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. perlsyntax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #1
    How can i tell if i got a sata 2 or sata 3 in my macbook pro 2012?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Your MacBook Pro has SATA III.
     
  3. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #3
    Thank you Kingston tech support try telling me i had SATA 2:)
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    They are wrong.
     
  5. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #5

    After that happen i think i stay away from kingson ssd:)
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Good call.

    Kingston really ripped off customers with the V300 SSDs, by silently bait-switching the NAND used. PNY did the same thing before.

    I will never recommend Kingston to anyone based on their business practices.
     
  7. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #7
    I want to make sure i get the right sad drive that won't damage my macbook pro.I don't like kingston tech support.Other thing i was thinking about was sign up for iOS and get iPad.

    But i was thinking looking more into sad drive before i get one.:)
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    - You'll do well with Samsung SSDs. Their current models are the 850 EVO and 850 Pro.
    Samsung is among the SSD manufacturers that Apple use for their machines, so you're pretty much ensured great compatibility.
    With that said, most every brand of modern SSDs should have no problems running in your MacBook Pro.
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    You should get a happy drive :D

    That said, you can't go wrong with Samsung or Crucial.

    I personally use Samsung 840/850 Pro drives with MLC NAND, because I do a lot of write intensive operations.
     
  10. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #10
    How much space do i need for ssd for cloning my hard rive i was told 500gb i would need.But best buy told me i should be fine with 256gb?
     
  11. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #11
    How much space are you using on your hard drive???

    You need that much and a bit more.

    :apple: left hand corner and look at about this mac on your machine.

    Also remember that installing a new hard drive is a good time to clean up your files delete unused apps back up your system and generally do all the housekeeping you usually put off. You may find that you don't use all that much space.
     
  12. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #12
    496.47 free out of 499.25
     
  13. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #13
    Well if you are experiencing slowdowns

    beachballs etc it is because your hard drive is too small for your needs.

    SSD's like you to leave a good 10% free as well so even a 500GB will be pushing it.

    Use omnidisksweeper and get rid of any duplicates files and apps you don't need etc.

    http://download.cnet.com/OmniDiskSweeper/3000-18512_4-6226.html

    If you can get it down to about 400gb you should be ok.

    You may also want to look at putting in your SSD and moving your HDD to the optical bay (you lose your DVD drive though) and having the best of both worlds more storage and speed.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/208...in-a-unibody-macbook-pro-with-a-second-h.html
     

Share This Page