MacBookPro - Harddrive w/ Bootcamp upgrade help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sprime1, Aug 1, 2008.

1. sprime1 macrumors member

Hey Folks:

I know there are guides out there for replacing harddrives in MacBook Pros, but i can't seem to find anything to help me putting my Mac OS AND Bootcamp partitions onto the new harddrive. Can anyone offer advice?

I currently have a 100gb 7200RPM, and will get the Scorpio 320GB / 7200 rpm. I want like 250 Gig for the bootcamp partition (i'm an architect, and all my programs are windows based) and the rest for Mac OS, so i'll need programs that will copy the data, and let me resize the partitions without corrupting the existing files.

Thanks so much in advance!

2. Neil321 macrumors 68040

Neil321

Simple buy an enclosure put the new drive in it, clone OS X over to it using carbon copy cloner or superduper & windows using winclone boot from the new drive to make sure things are Ok then take your MBP apart and swap the drives, you then have a new external that was once your internal

3. sprime1 thread starter macrumors member

So, i format the new drive externally to Mac Format, use CCC to clone the mac partition.

After this, do i need to boot from it, use bootcamp to set up the Windows partition, then use Win clone to clone the existing windows partition.

then test Mac partition (you can't boot windows from an external) and if it works, swap out my harddrives?

Is it that easy?

Could i just use Time Machine to clone the Mac OS instead of CCC?

4. sprime1 thread starter macrumors member

I already have the Bootcamp partition.... I want to keep it, but increase it's capacity.

5. unusualmuse macrumors newbie

Keep me posted!

Greetings...

I'm interested in doing a similar procedure on my MBP... has the original poster successfully done this? Or, has anyone else come up with any new info regarding making this happen?

Cheers...

6. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod