MacBookPro3,1 64-bit artificial limitation

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ifou123, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. ifou123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #1
    It is my understanding that all Intel-based Macs are 64-bit capable, but earlier ones (including my 2007 2.4 Ghz Santa Rosa 17") have artificial limitation. I've successfully updated the script to x86_64, and under System Profiler I still get "64-bit kernel and extensions: No"

    From what I can tell it's the Kernel version Darwin 10.6.2 that needs to be upgraded/hacked, but have seen no info on how to do this.

    Recently upgraded to 4 GB RAM as well as an 120 GB SSD. This computer is 4 years old but it is still fast. Boots in 10 secs flat. The only thing is I'm running CS5 and really want to take advantage of the 64-bit.

    If anyone has any information it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Running the 64-bit kernel instead of the 32-bit kernel will have no effect on performance of CPU intensive 64-bit applications. Don't worry about this. Also, AFAIK, Photoshop is the only application in CS5 that is 64-bit. The others are still 32-bit.
     
  3. ifou123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #3
    I use Photoshop CS5 quite extensively, seems there is quite improved performance running 64-bit. Premiere and After Effects CS5 only run in 64-bit. Admittedly I'm not a heavy user of either of these.

    Judging by the way the wind is blowing, CS6 will be mostly/all 64-bit. If there's no way to enable my MacBookPro3,1 to 64-bit, so if not so much now, it will definitely be an issue later on.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Photoshop CS5 runs in 64-bit regardless of whether the computer is booted into a 64-bit kernel and there will be no perceptible difference in performance with the computer in 32-bit mode. Because the computer has only 4GB of RAM, Photoshop is already limited by the amount of available memory; if your computer had more RAM you'd see a difference in the amount it could use.
     
  5. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Probably wasn't clear that which kernel you run makes no difference on the ability to run 64 bit applications. Also, even with a 32-bit kernel you can have more than 4GB of RAM. This is totally different than in the Microsoft Windows environment that architects the processor and memory in a more restrictive way to maintain compatibility with "legacy" applications. No such issue with OS X.
     

Share This Page