MacBookPro4,1 + Secondary Click

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Ragnar-Kon, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. Ragnar-Kon, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    Ragnar-Kon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #1
    Update: I can confirm that this issue still exists on the Lion released on the App Store today (July 20th).

    I work for a University, and a pre-release copy of Mac OS X Lion ended up on my desk this past Friday (Apple releases most of their software to us early for testing purposes), with instructions to start testing software/hardware configurations in preparation for the final release. I would assume it is the same build that was released to developers earlier in the month, but I wouldn't know.

    Anyway, on all of our Macbook Pro 4,1 (early 2008) models, the secondary click is not working. If you activate the option in the System Prefs, it won't work. Go back into System Prefs and I notice it just deactivates itself. Furthermore, the little movie that shows you how to use the two finger secondary click never appears. All of the other trackpad gestures work perfectly.

    Has anyone else encountered this problem and/or found a solution?

    I realize that Apple may (and hopefully) fix the issue before the final release. Everyone in the IT department expected the release this past week, which obviously didn't happen, so we had to start testing. The goal is to get everyone upgraded to Lion before school starts up again in August, and this late-July release Apple seems to be planning is putting us in a time-crunch. If we can't get the update pushed by the time school starts, we'll have to wait until December, and our Mac users will just have to suffer. ;)
     
  2. lomby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Update your hardware maybe?? ;)
     
  3. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #3
    I don't know what to tell you. If it happens on all your machines that is strange. I would re-post on the Developer forum. Apple has always stated a July release, so if you can't make a deadline I guess you won't have Lion on your school computers.
     
  4. Ragnar-Kon, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

    Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #4
    Yeah... see... that was the original plan, but then we lost $32 million from our budget this past year, and computer upgrades happened to be $320,000 of that $32 million that was lost. So new hardware is out of the question unless Apple hardware magically starts costing nothing.

    That's what I was thinking. Don't have the login information though, so I will have to ask the University development team on Monday. I personally would rather wait until December anyway, just to give Apple time to patch and fix bugs, but nearly all of our Mac users have begged me for it daily since the beginning of July, so I was just going to try to get it to them by August for my own personal sanity.

    But I have a Macbook Pro 5,1... which is very similar to the 4,1, so I too am hoping I won't run into the same problem come release.
     
  5. lomby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    That sucks, I'm sorry to hear that
     
  6. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    I'm currently on my MacBookPro4,1, and it's working just fine? You sure 'Secondary Click' is ticked, and you're using two fingers to tap, or single click + ctrl?
     
  7. Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #7
    Ctrl + click works fine. Using two fingers to tap isn't. Perhaps the build number that was given to me is an older build number and not the Golden Master I was thinking it was, what build are you using?

    Also, in my search to find a solution I've come across several sites that claimed there is/will be a 2nd Golden Master. Can anyone confirm/deny? If I remember right, the Snow Leopard Golden Master was up-gradable to 10.6.1/10.6.2/etc.
    But if they messed up this Golden Master so much to warrant a 2nd Golden Master, then I would image that the first one wouldn't be up-gradable, and I'm just wasting my time here.
     
  8. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    I've used DP4, DP4 + Update and GM, it's worked consistently. Lion has actually been pretty impressive on this machine (apart from some laggy rendering of certain things).

    Could be that the trackpad's a little worn? Occasionally the trackpad on here did rebel and go unresponsive with secondary click functions, but it always seemed to sort itself out, though it's not done it for nearly a year.
     
  9. Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #9
    I suppose it is possible, but I find it strange that every single trackpad gesture-even the complicated 4 finger gestures-are working fine, with the exception of the secondary click.

    The only problem that I've heard about this particular Mac is that occasionally it would never wake up from sleep properly. I also asked the person who primarily uses this Mac and he said that the secondary click was working on Snow Leopard the last time he used it, which was during the 4th of July weekend. I'm also having the same problem on another MacBookPro4,1, but that Macbook Pro was used and abused during a trip to Africa and has never acted properly since then-so I'm not too surprised.

    Did you do an upgrade install or a wipe & install?
     
  10. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    What I can't get working is the OS zoom function (ctrl + two fingers), which annoys me a bit :/

    Yeah, all of my gestures are working fine on here. I've read reports of some tick-boxes automatically unticking themselves randomly in the GM build, and though this isn't happening to me, that might also be it?

    I think I had that sleep issue back with Leopard, but since Snow Leopard 10.6 it's been fine.

    I always wipe and clean install when going from one OS to another; as a former Windows user I've been trained to avoid upgrade processes like the plague ;)

    To go back to your original post, I would strongly advise going against rolling out Lion on your production machines without waiting for at least a 10.7.1 or .2 release. Apple are not renowned for .0 stability. SL was a mess when it launched (well, it was for me!), and just take a look at the complaints about FCPX to see that was almost rushed out of the door too.
     
  11. Ragnar-Kon, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

    Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #11
    We all (and by "we", I mean the IT department here) agree with you, but our video producers are Mac crazies, and they all want Lion right away. Normally I don't even touch a new piece of software until the first patch or two, but since they were all bugging me I told them I would get it to them as soon as possible. But then again, I might have to make "as soon as possible" December if I keep on running into issues ;) .

    Just to make sure I wasn't crazy I did a second wipe+install, and ended up with the same result. I also ran into a graphics issues on some of the old Mac Pro towers than run Nvidia Quadro cards that essentially prevents you from using two screens at one, which is basically a deal-breaker for most of our video producers, especially the producers that use After Effects. So, I suppose I will wait for the official release and hope that these issues are fixed.

    By the way, the OS zoom function doesn't work for me either.
     
  12. Draeconis, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

    Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    I work in the IT department of a College, and we've been testing Lion for a little while now, mainly with regard to the re-implemented AD integration and SMBX. I'm pretty sure the only people eager to install Lion on the Macs here is just us in IT, but I doubt we'll roll it out until we're reasonably confident the whole thing isn't gonna fall over.

    I'm assuming they're not using FCPX then :p I'm not sure if FCP7 will install on Macs running Lion; I have the previous version of Logic Studio and that refuses to install on Lion, stating it's a PPC app (when it's UB :/) If they're on Avid or Premiere then they should be ok.. I think lol

    Bizarre, still working here! If it helps, the specs of my MacBookPro4,1 are;

    17" Early 2008, 2.5Ghz C2D, 200Gb 7,200rpm drive, 4Gb DDR2 RAM 667Mhz, 8600m GT 512Mb Graphics Card.

    Hmm, guess they removed it :(

    We don't have any Mac Pros with Quattro cards at work, but we do have two MacPro1,1's with Nvidia 7300s I believe. Gonna try and get the replaced as they're not compatible with FCPX, and as Apple cancelled all our FCP7 exams, and they've promised to add in features to FCPX we all had anyway.. I'm sure we'll be getting a Volume Licence at some point!
     
  13. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #13
    I would post again on the Dev forum. I wonder why your original post was locked and deleted. I've found that forum helpful. Your university is due the support and I would take advantage of official channels.
     
  14. Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #14
    Specs are the same except I have the 2.4 GHz option. And yes they are all running FCP7, but only until multicam is added in FCPX, and I can also confirm that FCP7 is working fine on Lion.

    Also, with regards to AD integration, I'm having no problems, and I was able to get the "golden triangle" setup (one machine bound to both Active Directory & Open Directory at the same time) going without a problem. We use Active Directory for username & passwords only, all the other management is taken care of by the Open Directory server.
    I also tested Xsan with Lion, and it is working fine, which to be honest completely surprised me.

    This whole thing is actually rather amusing to me, because the stuff I expected not to work is working perfectly. Yet I keep on running into these small issues here and there that I had assumed Apple would have taken care of during their internal testing.
     
  15. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #15
    2.4Ghz? Sounds like the 15" model. Awesome, that's good to know, thanks!

    That sounds interesting; we could never get that Golden Triangle setup to work over here with SL, Xserves and our AD servers, though our internal network is... patchy at best :/

    Obviously Apple paid attention to the important stuff and will fix the more trivial use experience stuff later ;)
     
  16. mkamir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    #16
    Same issue here with a 2009 MacBook Air.

    Tried everything I could without reinstalling.

    The strange thing is that the other users on this machine don't have this bug.

    I deleted most preferences, and I don't see any other prefpanes that could be responsible. I will clean install it when it's officially out.
     
  17. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #17
    A one user bug is a "good" sign really. Worse case delete all preferences to troubleshoot.
     
  18. vitor.smr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #18
    Same problem here

    I have the same issue, I simply cannot activate the secondary click on System Preferences. After I close and open it again it becomes unselected.

    MacBook Pro 2.5Ghz Core 2 duo 15" here. (OS 10.7)

    Using Ctrl+click or a mouse seems to be working fine.
     
  19. Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #19
    For those who are curious, the issue still exists and is not limited to the Golden Master release (which should be obvious since the Lion released today is the same build number).

    Also, still searching for a solution, so if anyone finds one please let me know. I also discovered that this problem is limited to the 15" MBP 4,1 only, the 17" model seems to be immune (so far).

    Thread about the issue on Apple Discussions:
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/15666217
     
  20. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #20
    Sorry to hear that mate. Still working on my machine at the moment (fingers crossed!)
     
  21. philravens24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #21
    I have the release version and am having the same problem.
     
  22. jammybastard macrumors regular

    jammybastard

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    In Trasnic
    #22
    Same problem as well.
    :mad:

    early '08 2.4GHz Penryn, 6GB RAM (OWC), Lion, etc...
     
  23. bobbyecc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #23
    Same issue here, 10.7 release version, early-2008 17" MBP (2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo) :(
     
  24. Ragnar-Kon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #24
    Thanks to Maxym on the official Apple forums, a solution has been found!! :)

    Open Terminal and type:
    Code:
    defaults -currentHost write -g com.apple.trackpad.enableSecondaryClick -bool YES
    Then log off, and log back in.

    Note that my Secondary Click box was checked in the trackpad System Preference pane (even though right click was not working). I had uncheck the box before the above command worked.

    Again, this is for some 2007 & 2008 15"/17" Macbook Pro and Macbook Air laptops.
     
  25. ToddJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    #25
    i bought the final version the day it came out and that problem is fixed now....
     

Share This Page