Macbook's fans are full blast all the time

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tennismanclay, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. tennismanclay macrumors regular

    tennismanclay

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    US-Texas
    #1
    Every since upgrading to Leopard my macbook's fans have not stopped. When i log in, after about 2 minutes of doing anything, or nothing, the fans will come on. Even if nothing is open, the fans will come on pretty loud. I tried turning it off, taking out battery, push the power button for 5 seconds then putting the battery back in and starting her up again, only to here the fans come back on.

    The closest apple store is about 4 hours away btw.


    Please post reply if you have any input.


    edit: Mad Jew saved the day=] its fixed.
    -tennisman
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
  3. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #3
    I had this on my 2.0 macbook never found the problem
     
  4. nikiski macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong, or Surrey, BC, Canada
    #4
    I would suggest using Activity Monitor first to see if anything is eating up the CPU.
     
  5. tennismanclay thread starter macrumors regular

    tennismanclay

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    US-Texas
    #5
    i installed fan control today, just to see, but haven't changed any settings.


    I just tried resetting the PRAM, it just made the fans start going while at the login screen, instead of after i log in.
     
  6. tennismanclay thread starter macrumors regular

    tennismanclay

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    US-Texas
    #6


    it starts at the login window, its not because an app is eating it up, i checked just in case tho. nothing.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Did you check All Processes, or just the default My Processes? :)
     
  8. tennismanclay thread starter macrumors regular

    tennismanclay

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    US-Texas
    #8

    Guys!!

    Some mad jew just saved the day:D


    well, here was the problem.


    apparently some bug in parental controls, it was taking up 99 cpu, funny thing is i'm an admin and i have no guest accounts to even put parental controls on. I force quit it and the fans quit. hmmmm

    Another really weird thing. When i quit it i tried to look at my widget istatpro to see what the rpm of my fans were, except now when i try to open that widget it just kicks me out of dashboard and back onto my desktop. SO i cant access that widget anymore.

    If i had a paypal account i would pay mad jew, no kidding. I can now work on my computer in silence =]


    thank you!!!!

    -tennisman
     
  9. tennismanclay thread starter macrumors regular

    tennismanclay

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    US-Texas
    #9
    it seems as though none of my widgets are working now, when i click them dashboard exits with an error sound and sends me to my desktop. Any ideas?


    -tennisman
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Haha, mate nikiski should really take all the credit. :D

    Anyway, this Dashboard problem is weird. I'm guessing it's related to the Parental Controls issue... Have you restarted since quitting the process and if so, does the process start up again? If you create a new user account in System Preferences, does Dashboard act normally there? :)
     
  11. nikiski macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong, or Surrey, BC, Canada
    #11
    I second the new user account idea. Normally that cures most problems associated with messed up settings. ;)
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    At least it might show is if a file is corrupted, and where it probably is... :)
     

Share This Page