MacFUSE - How did it get there?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Pagemakers, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    MacFUSE has just appeared in my system preferences.

    What is it and how did it get there without me knowing about it?

    Could it be part of a Parallels update?
     
  2. robo456 macrumors 6502

    robo456

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    I didn't google it yet, but I know when I installed my VMWare it installed MacFUSE as well...

    --rob
     
  3. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #3
    I've had Parallels installed for ages but only updated to the latest verson today and now MacFUSE displays in my preferences. It wasn't there before.

    I wonder if Parallels put it there?

    What happens if I uninstall it?
     
  4. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #4
    I remember seeing MacFUSE installed by Fusion as well, but I don't see it show up in System Preferences. If I run System Profiler I do see it listed under Software > Frameworks. Is it supposed to show up under Other in System Preferences?
     
  5. borcanm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #5
    I hit the remove button, then it told me that MacFuse isn't installed.
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    You won't be able to access NTFS disc images from MacOS X :rolleyes:
     
  7. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #7
    I just hit the uninstall button too and it says it not installed but the icon is still there in preferences.

    How do I remove that?
     
  8. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #8
    To answer my own question above I just right clicked the icon and chose remove.
     
  9. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    It's installed by Parallels. I think that it only appears in System Preferences in a recent update.
     
  10. catroom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
  11. borcanm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #11
    search for MacFuse in Finder and then just delete it manually.
     
  12. cleetusvandamm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008

Share This Page