Macintosh 128k newbie

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by bombo, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. bombo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #1
    Hey all,
    I just got my hands on a 128 from original owner.
    Looks like is was built on week 28!
    Original mouse keyboard and bag also.
    It does need some work. On startup I get the error 020002 which i see is a bad chip.
    I believe the floppy drive needs some work too as the floppies dont click in.

    Question I have is, where can I purchase replacement chips?
     
  2. MacTech68, Nov 12, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2012

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #2
    First, you need to establish if this is a 128K with original RAM, or if it has been upgraded to 512K of memory.

    Looking at the memory ICs (16 of them), you'll see either 4164 or 41256 printed somewhere on the ICs.

    Depending on which, will determine which you need to buy.

    These memory ICs are no longer manufactured (AFAIK), so anywhere you can get them (eBay for starters) will suffice. Search for "4164" or "41256" RAM.

    Ensure that they are 150nano Seconds or faster. IE, 150ns 120ns 100ns etc. For example, A 150ns chip will be marked with a "-15" after the 4164.

    Removing the chip from the motherboard is the hard part. A trick can be to use side cutters to cut the pins of the chip at the top "shoulder", then remove each pin one by one. Using an IC socket can save the same pain later.

    Have fun!
     
  3. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #3
    Thanks! I will crack her open and see what I find. Will let you know tomorrow.
     
  4. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #4
    Looking at that error code, the offending chip should be at F6. (Circled in red).
     

    Attached Files:

  5. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #5
    Great Thank You!..
    Will check it out in the morning..
     
  6. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    MacTech68, you are a wealth of knowledge and always very helpful!
     
  7. bombo, Nov 13, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2012

    bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #7
    Ok so I have a few chips with different numbers (looks like some may have been replaced already)
    at F6 I have MCM6665BP20/FQD8416 <---this one is also located at F7 & F11

    and all the others are HM4864P-3

    I believe they are both 64k chips. So does not look like it was upgraded.

    Can someone confirm?
     
  8. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #8
    Confirmed. They're 64Kx1 so your board is still 128K.

    Interestingly, the HM4864P-3 which is Hitachi, is a 200nano second RAM.

    The replacement MCM6665BP20 (Motorola) is also 200nano second. We used to use 150ns, but 200ns should be fine, but no slower.

    I would be careful since it is pretty rare for the RAM to fail (though it does). For two to fail at the same location may indicate poor replacement of the chip at F6.

    Pics of the solder pads underneath F6 and a view from the top would be handy.

    Are the replacements socketed?
     
  9. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #9
    Here are the top side and back.
    F6 is circled on both.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. David Schmidt macrumors 6502

    David Schmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Southeastern USA
    #10
    Looks like there were just different parts in the hopper when the got stuffed in the board at manufacturing... they look wave soldered to me.
     
  11. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #11
    Do you recommend removing the chip and reseating before purchasing a replacement?


    Also, I want to say thank you to all for all your time and patience..
    Much appreciated from all of us beginners.!!
     
  12. David Schmidt macrumors 6502

    David Schmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Southeastern USA
    #12
    There's no removing and reseating that chip - it's soldered to the board. You'd need to desolder it, install a socket, and then fit a new chip. You probably want to socket all the RAM as long as you're in there. Definitely not a beginner task, unless you're already familiar with the tools involved.
     
  13. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #13
    Sorry by reseating I meant desoldering and resoldering back on.
    But by the looks of it connections all seem good.

    So you suggest putting in a socket over just getting a new chip and soldering on?
     
  14. bombo, Nov 13, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2012

    bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #14
    I put the board back in and turned on again and now receiving error 040002.
    It seems like it is random between 020002 and 040002.
    Has anyone ever seen this?
    I guess it is the same chip always causing the error.
     
  15. David Schmidt macrumors 6502

    David Schmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Southeastern USA
    #15
    My guess - it's not the connections, it's the chip guts. Re-flowing the solder won't help.

    Yes. Desolder a couple of chips and you'll understand why you don't ever want to do that on the same chip again. :D Besides, it isolates the new chip from the heat from those of us that are a little more ham-handed with our soldering irons.
     
  16. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
  17. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #17
    Whilst it's VERY unusual to have a mix of RAM chips from initial build (in fact, it's the first I've seen on a Mac128), those pics certainly look like factory originals.

    Yup, though I wouldn't bother doing ALL of them, unless you're a sucker for punishment. ;)
     
  18. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #18
    I forgot to say, excellent pics! Very helpful.

    Additionally, removing the chip isn't easy if you haven't done one before. As I suggested above, unless you have specialized tools, cutting the shoulders of the chip's pins and removing each pin individually is easiest.

    You'll then need to remove the solder from each thru-hole pad, BUT you'll probably have difficulty with pins 8 and 16 (circled in pic below).

    My suggestion would be to clear all OTHER holes of solder, then place your socket and heat up pin 8 and push the socket into that hole, then swap to pin 16, heat that pin and push it thru. Keep alternating until the socket is flush with the circuit board, then solder the other pins. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. bombo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #19
    Thanks for all your help guys much appreciated!
    Pics were taken with my 4S.

    I have soldered before and will attempt it.
    Just have to wait for the chip to come in.

    Hopefully the original owner find the system disk lol.
    I just have the guides atm.

    Will keep you updated!
     

Share This Page