Macintosh HD gets Full while working !

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by daBaki, Sep 10, 2008.

1. daBaki macrumors newbie

Hello everybody,

Since I got a MacBook and I'm new in mac's world, I'm facing some weird stuff in my mac, well I have space left on my macintosh hd about one GB and half, and I don't like to turn it of the mac and suddenly my macintosh hd got full and at some point it shows me that you have zero kb left.

Does anyone know how to deal with it ?

thanks in advance,
    daBaki.

2. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

Do you have MobileMe account and enabled automatic synchronization?

3. johto macrumors 6502

johto

Download and install "Disk Inventory X" from http://www.derlien.com/
    It shows graphically what and where it takes space on HDD.

4. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

As a rule of thumb, you should always leave atleast 10% of your hard drive free. Just thought I'd mention it.

5. daBaki thread starter macrumors newbie

No I don't have account, but would it help me to solve the problem if I do?

I need something that it would do it job by it self, for instance in windows it doesn't take 1 GB while you are running it, I mean from 1 gb to zero kb available ???

6. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

No. I asked because automatic synchronization may in certain circumstances led to fill the drive. It is known problem and presented on Apple Discussions.

7. johto macrumors 6502

johto

What do you mean? Your situation is a unique one. You have just used some program that filled the disk with "your stuff". No program can do anything "automaticly" and delete your non important stuff. You need your self to figure out what crap your computer is filled the disk with. With that program you can see what is the "obvious" missbehaving file type. Is it a some random program fault, generated huge log file, have you saved some big ass video file your selff by mistake etc...you need to figure your self! :rolleyes: