Macintosh HD icon

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macmike22, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. macmike22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,
    Ive been looking through the 'December Desktops' thread (and some other months), and some people seem to have a little image of their computer model (be it lae 2008 macbook pro or iMac or whatever) instead of the HD icon I have, which is literally a hard disk.
    Can anybody inform me on how to do this??
    Thanks!
     
  2. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #3
    Ohh so you have to download the image etc..
    righto.
    I just thought there could be a quicker way to do it, like images already ready to use in the system
     
  3. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #4
    Sorry for double post but...
    Ive downloaded an image but when i replace is at my HD icon, it doesnt take up as much space as the standard one.. it looks really small despite using a 512x512 image..
    ideas?
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    I would download and use candybar. It is the easiest way to change icons.
     
  5. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #6
    im downloading it but it seems a little pointless downloading a whole program just to change icons?? any manual way to do it?
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    Yes, and it's $30 worth of something that could be done for free.

    Can you post a screenshot of what "too small" entails?
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Yep. Download the icons you want and open the Get Info window for the one you want to use to replace the Macintosh HD icon. Click the little icon preview in the Get Info page (it'll get a blue outline) and Apple+C it. Then go to the Get Info page of the icon you want to change, click its icon so that it is highlighted, and Apple+V. Voila!
     
  8. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
  9. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    Yeah, there's not much you can do about that beyond finding a new icon.
     
  10. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #11
    when i did what you said tallest, I now have a file preview image with ICNS on it.. right size tho.
    i feel like such an idiot, this seems to simple
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Hang on, what? Did it not work? You open the Get Info window, copy the little icon in the top left, open the Get Info window of the thing you're changing, and paste the new icon over the old one. Didn't that work? Works for me...
     
  12. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Get it back to how you had it in that sceenie, then to make the icon bigger right click your desktop (not the icon) and click 'Show View Options' then drag icon size to the max.
     
  13. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #14
    i think its just the image spacing..
    making the icon larger makes it look weird too, too much spacing.
    if anybody has any other macbook icons.. go ahead !
     
  14. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Well I use that icon and it looks fine on my desktop :S
     
  15. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #16
    :S
    heres the steps i take:
    locate folder alumimacbook.icns (or whatever file ending)
    get info, click icon prev image (which is a white blank docu with ICNS on it, but the lower larger preview is of the macbook) i see the blue highlight and all
    cmd c
    hard drive, click the icon and cmd v, all i get is the ICNS thing still.
     
  16. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Download and open this application, then drag the icon file onto this application and try again. Here is a nice MacBook icon btw: http://macthemes2.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=16790497
     
  17. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #18
    Well, try the one I am attaching as a zip file to this post. It is one I did as a request for a poster in another thread soon after the alum MB/MBP line came out and they wanted a Leopard desktop on one (and that one looks suspiciously similar). Different icons use different amount of the available space within the design grid, so they can certainly appear as different sizes when applied-- and I know mine used the maximum grid width so if this doesn't work for you, there are no others of that design (which is wider than tall) that will! ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. macmike22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #19
    i think thts even smaller... thanks anyway tho
     
  19. n8mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #20
    Have you taken Nicks advice yet? In Finder go to view>show view options and tell us what the icon size is. For example 48x48.
     

Share This Page