Resolved Macintosh HD missing from startup disk

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jekyoo, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. jekyoo, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    jekyoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Installed Windows 7 via bootcamp but now when I boot my rMBP, it goes straight into Windows 7 rather than OS X Mavericks. I went into System Preferences > Startup Disk to change the boot drive but my Macintosh HD isn't listed. Screen shot located below. Anyone know how to fix this to get my OS X HD to appear again?[​IMG]

    When I press the option key during boot up, Macintosh HD appears and I can boot and use OS X without any issues. I also went into recovery to verify and repair my disk but appearing to the logs, everything is okay. Even tried to change my start up disk in recovery and it only showed bootcamp.
     
  2. jekyoo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    So I fixed 99.99% of the issue.

    [​IMG]

    Went into Boot Camp Control Panel on Windows 7 and Macintosh HD appear so I changed it from there. Now my rMBP boots up in OS X by default. BUT I still can't get Macintosh HD to show up on the OS X side. Not sure if this matters but my external and usb thumb drive doesn't show up either when it's connected. It appears when I press option during boot though.
     
  3. Bruno09, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #3
  4. jekyoo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Just looked at your 2nd link and that's exactly the issue I have. My Partition Map Scheme is Master Boot Record now x_x.

    I did a back up, repartitioned and then restored from my back up, would the map scheme also transfer over?
     
  5. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #5
    When you partition the disk in Disk utility ("Partition" tab), you must click on "Options" and select GUID partition table (instead of MBR), then "Apply".
     
  6. jekyoo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Thanks for the help! Successfully did EVERYTHING (such a pain) but finally my startup disk shows Macintosh HD :)

    Hopefully anyone who has this specific problem sees this thread also.
     

Share This Page