Mackbook Pro memory usable in Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mstrickland, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. mstrickland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #1
    My wife and I just bought mac's and I was thinking of springing for a 4gb combo for the Macbook Pro and then trying to move my 2-1gb sticks from this machine to her new Macbook. Will this work?

    Thanks in advance..
     
  2. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #2
    MacBook & MacBook Pro RAM Are The Same

    Yes. They are the same RAM. It's also possible to put ONE 2GB stick in her MacBook to make it a 3GB ram MacBook - the max it will take although Apple doesn't broadcast that fact.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Yes, the 1 Gb modules out of the new machine(s) will work in the MacBook.

    The latest MacBooks (with the Core2Duo chips) will take a single 2 Gb module for 3 Gb total

    Thanks
    Trevor

    [Edit] Beaten to the post :)
     
  4. docc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    Yes, but from what i have read, its better to install similar dual channel modules to prevent a decrease in performance. Now, i am not aware how much of a difference a 5-10% performance drop will make to the OP, but any drop isn't good. I guess thats why Apple doesn't advertise that fact...
     
  5. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #5
    "performance Drop" From Different Size RAM Modules Is A MYTH

    That "performance drop" story is a MYTH. Apple doesn't advertise it because they don't want folks to realize it can have almost as much RAM as a MBP. It is less than 4% difference at MOST and usually none at all. The additional RAM more than makes up for the mismatch "hit".
     
  6. docc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #6
    You're right, thanks for clarifying that. Check out this link from OWC which benchmarks all the different configurations and shows a marginal decrease with Aperture while 3GB seems like the better option for all other puproses.

    Interesting read...

    Cheers.
     
  7. mstrickland thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007

Share This Page