mackeeper

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jmrsp, Aug 20, 2011.

1. jmrsp macrumors newbie

i just bought and iMac and this is my first mac, so i'm a newbie. i saw some software called mackeeper, which "better protects" my mac - supposedly. its free, but is it worthwhile? anyone have any experience or thoughts about this software?

2. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

ECUpirate44

Stay away from apps like Mac Cleaner, cleanmymac, or appzapper. They tend to cause more harm than good.

3. tekcor macrumors member

Nope. It is not free, $40 for one Mac. It does some tasks, but you're not likely to actually ever need it.

4. Aldaris macrumors 65816

Aldaris

Fully agree!

5. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

gorskiegangsta

I would not recommend Mackeeper or other software of its sort.
    1. It is not free, it's $40 per licence.
    2. Even for price of free, it has virtually zero usefulness. "Cleaner software" for Mac OS X doesn't restore space or make the OS run faster as it does in Windows.
    3. It can harm your system more often than help it.

Software that is useless on Mac OS X:
    • Cleaner/Optimization software
    • Defragmenter software
    • Antivirus/Anti-Malware software
    • Uninstaller software

6. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Taking nothing away from the other responses, but there is only one thing that you need to know about MacKeeper. It is a scam. Period.

7. dyn macrumors 68030