Mackeeper

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Jaxd, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. Jaxd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    #1
    http://mackeeper.zeobit.com/

    Is it worth the £33 to buy it for? Is it good software?

    Need opinions before/IF I buy it :)

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
  3. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #3
    The general consensus around here is (1) you don't need it, and (2) it can cause more trouble than it solves.

    There are ways available on your computer to do everything that MacKeeper does. Unfortunately, I'm a complete techno-incompetant and can't instruct you. However, GGJstudios knows everything there is to know about what you can do yourself without using Mackeeper.

    Also, I suggest you do an MR search - there have been many threads addressing this question.

    (Do it before 12 folks get on here and flame you for not doing a search before opening this thread!! :eek: ;) :D)
     
  4. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #4
    See below:
    Talking about CleanMyMac - but it's essentially the same thing.

    Yesterday, 11:09 AM #3
    GGJstudios
    macrumors G3



    Join Date: May 2008
    You really don't need "cleaner" or "maintenance" apps to keep your Mac running well, and some of these apps can do more harm than good. Most only remove files/folders or unused languages or architectures, which does nothing more than free up some drive space. It will not make your Mac run faster or more efficiently, since having stuff stored on a drive does not impact performance, unless you're running out of drive space.

    One app that I would not recommend, based on the number of complaints that have been posted in this forum and elsewhere, is CleanMyMac. As an example: CleanMyMac cleaned too much.

    Mac OS X does a good job of taking care of itself, without the need for 3rd party software.
    Check your Login Items under System Preferences > Accounts to see what you have automatically launching.
    Also check /Library/LaunchAgents/ and /Users/yourusername/Library/LaunchAgents/ for items launching at startup
    Look at what widgets you may have running.
    Launch Activity Monitor and change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes". Then look to see what may be consuming system resources.
    Take a look at the System Memory tab at the bottom of Activity Monitor to see if you have excessive page outs, a sign that you may benefit from more RAM.
    Last edited by GGJstudios; Yesterday at 11:14 AM.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  6. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #6
    HA! Got there before you.:cool::rolleyes:

    Of course, your link was much neater than my Copy and Paste.:eek:

    Darn you, GGJstudios!! :eek: ;)
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    I'm getting old and slow!
    It's OK. We're not graded on neatness! :) Mine was a copy/paste, as well. It just leaves the link in the post intact. I generally take the shortest path, to minimize aggravating my CTS.
    Yeah, I get that a lot! :D
     

Share This Page