macmini power cable pics

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by zoran, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Can someone send me pics of the power cable of the new mac mini because i want to use it in Europe and i have no idea what power adaptor i will have to purchase in order to use it!
    Thanx
     
  2. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #4
    thanx but i dont need an all in one adapter, i only need an American to European adapter and i want to know what the American MacMini power looks like. Does it have 2 or 3 metal wires like the pics i attach above?
     
  4. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    wow noone cares to help? come on guys its xmas! :D
     
  5. uncle_sam_ie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #6
    When I was in San Diego I got a single American to European plug adapter for about a buck in a camping shop. I'm sure there're not to hard to find were you live.
    Happy Christmas,:)
     
  6. LucasLand macrumors 6502a

    LucasLand

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    I thought the apple world travel adapter would work, but apparently not.

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB974ZM/A

    In europe I believe they use 220 volts. You can buy a cheap adapter anywhere in europe. Just go to places that cater to tourists. your not the first american that needs to plug something in.

    The big question is if the mini can handle 220volts. if you plug it in over there, will you burn it out?

    If you don't own one and will be there for an extended trip, maybe you can buy a mini once there. It will be a european version with the correct cable
     
  7. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    thanx i know but what puzzles me is this photo
    http://www.sunsetmac.com/images/9226676.gif
    the plug is aparted by 3 wires i knew that American plugs only have two wires, no?
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    Some are two and some are three. All sockets can take three wire. The third (round) pin is an optional ground.
     
  9. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #10
    my mini is already purchased and its on its way right now, its flying actually, but this pic puzzled me
    http://www.sunsetmac.com/images/9226676.gif
    so do i need to get the 2 wire American to European adapter or a 3wire. What does the cable look like actually?
    I cant wait for it to come cause stores will open again on monday and i cant wait till then. On the other hand i stillhave a few hours time before the stores close, thats why im racing against time for this now! 2 more hours to go!


     
  10. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
    can i place a 2wire AtoE adapter in a 3wire cable or might it burn it?
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    You can. Its called a cheater plug. But I would recommend looking for an adaptor for your desitnation country that accepts the grounding pin.
     
  12. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
  13. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    is this the cheater plug you are reffering to?
    and if not can i use this or a hazzard might be caused?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    This is a cheater plug. [​IMG]Use it before the adapter above. You may be able to avoid using a cheater plug if the grounding pin fits past the top of your adapter.
     
  15. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #17
    I see... so
    1. you think there will be no harm to the mini right if i use the cheater plug?
    2. maybe it be best to change/purchase a new cable (the part from the converter to the plug) from my country so that there will be no adapters n patches! i wonder how mutch that cable would cost, im curious!
     
  16. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #18
    The point of the third prong is to protect you and the equipment from a possible short circuit. Given the low voltages running through the mini, you should be OK. What country do you live in? Maybe we can suggest something. A new cable would be the cleanest approach but not the cheapest.
     
  17. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #19
    Im in Greece. How mutch would a new cable cost do you recon?
     
  18. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #20
    rainbow.gr may have it. No idea what it would cost. Most hardware stores should have the 3 prong US (type b) to 2/3 prong europlug. I assume you are not using the old (pre-1990) greek sockets. If you are you may have to add yet another adapter. That one you showed us before is a modern Europlug adapter.
     

Share This Page