macOS 10.12.2 & AD "Roaming Profiles"

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by TheFireDragon, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. TheFireDragon macrumors newbie

    TheFireDragon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    #1
    Hey there, I'm new here,
    I had tried to setup my company active directory.
    Adding the Mac to the domain works.
    But I can't open the directory utility to configure any settings.
    So I can't configure my roaming profiles.
    When I'm logged in as a network member and activate mobile profiles I only can setup the internal MacHDD.

    Does someone have an idea to solve this?
    Best Regards,
    Dan
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    What do you mean by "I can't open the directory utility"? Does Directory Utility not open, or does it open and not offer the options you're seeking?
    Presumably you're trying to use a home directory that syncs to a server. This functionality has been removed from MacOS beginning with 10.12. You can make a mobile account that does not sync.
     
  3. TheFireDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    TheFireDragon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    #3
    Okay yet I understand it, the mobile profiles does not with my domain.

    At Settings -> User&Groups -> Network - Server - > Options is under my domain wich I have add a button for directory options, but this does not work when I click on it.

    So when this is removed from MacOS.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Just manually open the Directory Utility using Spotlight, or in the System Preference, click "edit" (even if you're already bound to a Directory) and then you'll see a button to open Directory Utility.
     
  5. TheFireDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    TheFireDragon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    #5
    Thanks for the answers.
    But this don't help me really.

    I have a account with a roaming profile.
    On Windows machine my files are on the Windows Server.
    When I login with my Mac at the domain the files are placed where?

    It looks that my Mac don't save the files on the windows server?
    I don't really understand the directory utility. ...
    Will I need a mobile account that my files are placed on the domain?
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    You can have a network home folder where your home folder exists only on the server and your account can never be used offline, or you can set up a local home folder that just authenticates using AD but keeps your files local and can be used offline but does not sync back to the server.
    If you want what was called a "portable home directory" where your home folder would be saved locally and would sync back to the server periodically, that functionality is gone starting with macOS 10.12.
     
  7. TheFireDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    TheFireDragon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    #7
    It would be okay if the Profil is only saved at the domain.
    I need to bind 4 MacBooks to a domain controller.
    the profiles should only saved at the dc.

    The Macbook is connected to the domain with a green point.
    When I log off and will login as a network user there is a red point with a red text that no network accounts are available but I can login with a network account.

    That confused me.
    Also I don't know what I need to change, that the profile is saved at the domain controller.
    On a windows machine this is working. under my profile folder I have a folder called .v6 and there are the user account.

    At the directory utility I have deactivate create user folder locally and only activate unc active directory.
    When I log in I get errors that I need to repair my home folder and key bond.
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    If you do this, your users will not be able to use the computer if it's not connected to the network. I do not think this is what you want on a portable computer.
    The red dot at the login prompt will often appear even when the network is available.
     
  9. TheFireDragon thread starter macrumors newbie

    TheFireDragon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    #9
    When I say this I want.

    Its for a company, the Macs are all time at the company. We have one Exchange Server and one Domain Controller.

    All Macs should store the files on the DC.

    I have found this here.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7696621?start=0&tstart=0

    It would be better, when it works directly but I don't know how.
    The Mobile Profile confused me.
    Apple have removed the sync feature.

    Someone was writing to do a auto mount. But how?

    Perhaps someone could help me.
    It would be bad if I must install windows on all mac's ..
     

Share This Page